Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by AmberJo
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. I made it just as written and baked it in a waterbath and it turned out lovely and tasted wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
First cheesecake I ever made and it came out perfect! The second time I made this I left out the pecans from the crust and added more gingersnaps. It was much tastier and less greasy. I highly recommend using all the tips especially the water bath. A yummy keeper at my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was my first time ever making a cheesecake and I used this recipe. The cheesecake was delicious and rich, just as you would expect a cheesecake to be. The gingersnap crust was a nice change from the ordinary graham crackers! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I got compliments on this, but no one raved and I thought it tasted like baloney. Weird, I know, but that's what it reminded me of. Not that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this recipe as an alternative to pumpkin pie for a family gathering. It was excellent! I did use heaping teaspoonfuls of the cinnamon and allspice. Per other reader's suggestions, I also cut down on the amount of butter in the crust to avoid any greasiness. Also, I think because I cut down on the amount of butter, my crust did not stick 2 inches up the side of the pan as instructed in the recipe. It ended up only being on the bottom. I would suggest trying to get the gingersnap and hazelnut mixture into a really, really fine grain. Mine was a bit crunchy! I also used a water bath. Baked it for about 1hr15m. Then let it sit for about 1/2 hour in the pan, outside of the oven, to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was a hit for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Thought the filling was very tasty, but not a fan of the crust, though some of my guests liked it. It fell in a bit though, but perhaps that's the baker rather than the recipe? Definitely need pan of water beneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I mixed gingersnaps and pecan sandies for the crust, and also substituted pecans for the hazelnuts. There was not enough crust to press 2" up the sides like the recipe stated. I substituted pumpkin spice coffee creamer for the heavy cream, and also used 2 pkgs. of fat-free cream cheese with one full-fat cream cheese. I don't think anyone missed the fat. I only had to cook it about 1 hour, and the top got a little too brown for my taste, so I served it covered with whipped cream. I got great reviews from the family on Thanksgiving. I didn't think it was fantastic, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I first tried this recipe as a thanksgiving experiment three years ago. I made it for my now-husband's family and it was a huge hit. Now I make it every year for his family, my mom, and my sister's family and everyone loves it! There's no need to make any changes to the recipe, it is wonderful just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I didn't actually make the cheesecake part of this recipe, but I had to give it a good rating for the CRUST. I used it with another, more traditional cheesecake recipe from this site and the combination was magic. Thanks for a new spin on an old classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States