Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I did what someone else had said they had done before, & substituted a mix of pecans and walnuts in place of the hazelnuts in the crust. Also added a little more cinnamon and a little less allspice. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Gingersnaps make this outstanding!! I've made pumpkin cheesecakes for years, but this makes a world of difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This cheesecake has been our dessert for the past three Thanksgiving dinners! Like others, I also use ground pecans in place of the hazelnuts, but I also find that a spicy gingersnap makes for a better crust. (Try Christie's Midget Snaps) This also makes great idividual cheesecakes....just place a ginger snap in the bottom of a muffin tin lined with a paper liner and pour on the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I made a lower fat version of this that came out GREAT. I used Neufchatel cheese, skim milk instead of cream, and put in 15 oz. of pumpkin. I also put in more spices. The cheesecake took longer to cook and the pumpkin seeped out a bit, but it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This recipe is AWESOME! I made it for Thanksgiving and got raves reviews, recipe requests and demands that I make TWO next year! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
YUM! I made this for Christmas, it was very good. I left the nuts out of the crust,(because my kids won't eat them) and it was still good. It makes more than 8 servings, very rich. I had to bake longer than 90 minutes to get the middle to set up. I used the pan of water under the cheesecake as was suggested elsewhere in All receipes, and had no problem with cracked top. It was pretty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
I made this cheesecake for Thanksgiving, and everybody loved it. The gingersnap crust really does make a difference in the taste. I love it, and I'm almost tempted to make it again for Christmas. It's s great recipe, and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes cheesecake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I made this cheesecake for christmas and it was awesome! Everyone loved it! And, it was my first cheesecake that did not crack (my 3rd attempt). If yours have a tendency to crack, try cooking for a shorter amount of time, then turn off the oven and leave the cake in there for about an hour--it will continue to cook, but not at the high heat, resulting in less (or no!) cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was excellent -- loved the crust. Many others wanted the recipe. Will probably make again at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This was amazing. Thanks Shelley! Here are some changes I made that you may want to try out readers.... *I used pecans instead of hazelnuts (because I wanted them to compliment the praline garnish I used. *I baked the cheesecake in a water bath to avoid cracking. *I made my praline with pecans. After the sugar/water mixture came to a med./ dark caramel color when boiling, I then spread the pecans on a buttered surface until they hardened. Spread so they don't touch. Set aside enough cute shiny whole pecans for a garnish for each piece. Chop up the rest for your praline garnish. * I made fresh whipped cream with vanilla bean, vanilla & sugar. * Presentation: take your slice of pumpkin cheesecake, put a large dollop of the vanilla bean whipped cream (letting is slide down each side of the cheesecake slice). Sprinkle 1-2 TB of the pecan praline on top of the whipped cream and sides of serving plate. Finally on top of the dollop add one shiny whole praline coated pecan. Enjoy! -Wendy Copeland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States