Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Yummy! Everyone was so impressed with this dessert at Thanksgiving this year. It will certainly become a family favorite. I baked it exactly as the recipe stated but I did bake it in a water bath. The top was very slightly darker that I would have liked it but it tasted wonderful. Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I even messed up and put 2 eggs in the cheesecake side so I was worried and cooked it 20 min. first the added pumpkin and cooked again. The best I've made yet and not really cheesecake like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe was amazing! Tried it this year for Thanksgiving and everyone asked for more! Very light and fluffy. I did bake in a water bath to keep from cracking. I also only baked for one hour and then turned off the oven and left it in there another hour. I only used gingersnaps in the crust and lessened the butter to keep the crust less greasy. Turned out great, will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryann
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was really good. I wanted to make it once before I made it for Thanksgiving. At first, when I couldnt wait to have a slice before letting it cool ni the fridge overnight, I was a little disappointed. But the next day I had a slice and it was divine. I used walnuts instead and since we are in a temporary house I was only able to crush them in a blender so therewere some pretty big chunks. Despite my worries over that, I think I actually prefer the bigger chucnks of nut. It gives the crust a great texture. I will use less butter (used 5 tbsp instead of 6... next time will cut down to 4 tbsp) and will use 4 packs of cream cheese instead of 3 as I like more of a cheese flavor. Hopefully it turns out as good or better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The flavors in this recipe are amazing, but it is not as easy as the previous reviews made it sound. If you decide to make individual cakes in muffin tins, use heavy duty papers. This amount of filling made enough for 24 individual cupcakes, so you need two cupcake pans to make it (unless you want to ruin the first twelve when you try to remove them from the pan, like I did). But again, the taste makes all the trouble worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This cheesecake is delicious! I'm not a big pumpkin fan, but this is so good! I made it for a work party and EVERYONE asked for the recipe. I used both the pumpkin pie mix and the spices. I substituted pecans for the hazlenuts. Also, for the topping, I piped French Vanilla Cool-Whip over the whole thing, crumbled up gingersnaps, and drizzled with caramel. It was beautiful! No one could believe I made it! Definitely give this one a try - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe... It can be turned into a "diabetic friendly" recipe also! Replace the ginger snaps with low-cal cookies and add a tsp. of ground ginger. Replace the sugar with fructose or sweetener (remember to reduce the amount, as fructose and sweeteners have a higher sweetening effect)Instead of maple syrup, add a tsp. of maple flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abuela Nany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldorado, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mijas, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is the first cheesecake I have ever made, and I learned a lot from the process. These are the changes I would make: 1. Use less butter, pecans, brown sugar, more gingersnap cookies in crust (crust was greasy). 2. Cook for one hour, then turn oven off for final 30 min (my cheesecake seemed overcooked and cracked). 3. Cool at room temperature for 1 hr, then move to refrig. 4. Add about 1 teaspoon nutmeg to batter. I am anxious to try this one again! Great taste, even though it didn't look so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We thought this was good, but I must have done the wrong thing putting the gingersnaps in the food processor. They ended up too finely ground, I think. Because, when I baked the cheesecake, the sugar in the crust seemed to have carmelized and made a harder crust. So, I think that was my fault, but I didn't like the ginger taste with the pumpkin cheesecake either. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Cooking at high elevations can be a challenge. I followed this recipe with the recommended changes of substituting pecans for the hazelnuts, and I put a pan of water in the oven. Except for those modifications, I followed the ingredients, temperature & times exactly. Cooking at 7000 feet can be a challenge, and this came out perfect--no cracks, subtle & wonderful flavors, great texture. Thanks for this recipe and the reviewer tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States