Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Never made this fancy kind of cheesecake before. But was pleasantly surprised with the result! Will definitely make again!! Listened to others suggestions: make CERTAIN to use a waterbath when baking; used 4 T of butter; used 1/4 c ground hazelnuts; added 1/2 t nutmeg. Will try another suggestion when I make again: bake for just over 1 hour, then turn oven off for final 30 min. This should make the texture more creamier. Absolutely best if eaten the following day after being in the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I have never made cheesecake before, and this recipe was amazing! No one would eat the other pies that we had for Thanksgiving. I did have difficulty crushing the gingersnap cookies, but I would not eliminate the for anything. The edges turn slightly brown (before the center had set) is there a way to avoid this? It didn't taste the least bit burnt, so I thought it was just how the gingersnap crust cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was good, but not what my expectations thought it would be like. The crust was really good, the filling wasn't very firm like cheesecake, it was very silky, mouth fill was not what I was used to. Not very spicey, thought it could be a little more punchy. The family liked it but it wasn't the first thing to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I've made this a few times now and I love this concept. I've made it with both pecans and hazelnuts. I double the spices, and have also used fresh pumpkin which gives it such a different texture and flavor. I make this as opposed to pumpkin pie, and I like this much better. Still experimenting with the crust, as it does get soggy, but I think this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Delicious! I made it with pecans and added some more ginger to the crust. I will make this again and again. Thank you! Lenora43
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Yummy! Everyone was so impressed with this dessert at Thanksgiving this year. It will certainly become a family favorite. I baked it exactly as the recipe stated but I did bake it in a water bath. The top was very slightly darker that I would have liked it but it tasted wonderful. Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I even messed up and put 2 eggs in the cheesecake side so I was worried and cooked it 20 min. first the added pumpkin and cooked again. The best I've made yet and not really cheesecake like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe was amazing! Tried it this year for Thanksgiving and everyone asked for more! Very light and fluffy. I did bake in a water bath to keep from cracking. I also only baked for one hour and then turned off the oven and left it in there another hour. I only used gingersnaps in the crust and lessened the butter to keep the crust less greasy. Turned out great, will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryann
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was really good. I wanted to make it once before I made it for Thanksgiving. At first, when I couldnt wait to have a slice before letting it cool ni the fridge overnight, I was a little disappointed. But the next day I had a slice and it was divine. I used walnuts instead and since we are in a temporary house I was only able to crush them in a blender so therewere some pretty big chunks. Despite my worries over that, I think I actually prefer the bigger chucnks of nut. It gives the crust a great texture. I will use less butter (used 5 tbsp instead of 6... next time will cut down to 4 tbsp) and will use 4 packs of cream cheese instead of 3 as I like more of a cheese flavor. Hopefully it turns out as good or better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The flavors in this recipe are amazing, but it is not as easy as the previous reviews made it sound. If you decide to make individual cakes in muffin tins, use heavy duty papers. This amount of filling made enough for 24 individual cupcakes, so you need two cupcake pans to make it (unless you want to ruin the first twelve when you try to remove them from the pan, like I did). But again, the taste makes all the trouble worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States