Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Wonderful pumpkin cheesecake recipe. I made this last year for thanksgiving and everyone devoured it and rated it 2 thumbs up, plus. So this year, I will be making it again. I don't use the hazelnuts but just add more gingersnaps and a bit of graham crackers. Everything else I follow to a T. Also, the key to a crack free top is to avoid overbeating the mix. Watch your oven temp and bring the cheesecake out a bit earlier then listed in the recipe. Cheesecake will keep cooking after the oven is off and will firm up as it cools. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
INCREDIBLE! WOW did my church family ever love this cheesecake.It came out Beautiful. I did make some changes tho. I didn't have any heavy cream so I substituted sour cream. I added extra spices since I know my husband and I like alot of flavor. For the crust I used extra ginger snaps and not hazelnuts since I'm not convinced my son can eat them yet. Then to keep the crust from cracking I used some simple tricks. 1: have a seperate container with water in the oven. 2: gently mix eggs then stir them in at the very end of mixing everything else. 3: only bake for 75-80 minutes then turn off oven and leave cake in for another half hour. hope your cake turns out as incredible as ours did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Okoboji, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was my first attempt at cheesecake and it was wonderful. I will make it for any occasion I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
YUMMY! What a wonderful combination to add the gingersnaps for the crust! I've never liked graham cracker crust so it was a great fix for that! First time I've ever made a cheesecake and it turned out fabulous! Cheesecake baking tips from website were a huge help! I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I just made this cheesecake today and I must say that everyone loved it. The taste of the pumpkin cheesecake was excellent. I thought it was a perfect blend of spices for my taste. These are the only things I changed. I only had 2/5 cup pure maple syrup and didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I just used half and half. It definitely took 90 minutes even though it was cracked but when it sat for the 1/2 hour, everything settled nicely. Definitely very good especially with a dollop of cool whip. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
VERY GOOD. '08 TRIED USING THE WATER BATH METHOD, SEEMED TO WORK, BUT TOOK MUCH LONGER TO BAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving last weekend and it was a hit. It was definitely not like traditional cheesecake texture and when I first cut into it, I was a bit nervous. It almost didn't seem cooked. The taste was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
AMAZING. This is the BEST cheesecake I have ever made, and I have made many. I did increase the spices (mostly cinnamon and a little ginger) and added some pumpkin spice mix as well. I used a water bath, which resulted in a perfect, crack-free surface. For the topping I whipped cream with a tsp vanilla, a tsp sugar, a tbsp vanilla pudding powder (to help it set better) and a squirt of maple syrup. I put this all over the cake like a frosting and then sifted cinnamon/sugar through a heart cut-out to make a heart pattern on top. It turned out better than I expected! Also served on top a drizzle of a maple bourbon caramel sauce: 1/2 c butter, 2 tbsp maple syrup, 1 c brown sugar, splash bourbon and 1/2 c cream, all brought to a boil and then allowed to sit until room temp. Fabulous. Wish I'd taken a picture. Usually my desserts are not very photogenic, but this one turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I made it for a departmental party and it was the most popular dish that night. I modified the recipe slightly, eliminating the hazelnuts from the crust and substituting the heavy cream with sour cream. The cake turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States