Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Fantastic! I was so impressed by the flavor. Like another reviewer suggested, I added a sour cream/sugar/vanilla topping to give it the double-layered look. I also garnished it by lightly sprinkling a brown sugar/cinnamon mixture over the top. If I had leftover pecans I would have topped it with those, but I was short on them. :( But as written, it was visually beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The best pumpkin cheesecake I've ever made, and I've made many. It might seem labor-intensive at first glance, but it's actually very easy and a great recipe for cheesecake beginners. Just be sure your cream cheese is at room temperature and you'll be golden. I subbed nutmeg for the mace, but otherwise followed the recipe. Per other users' suggestions, I baked at 350 for 50 minutes, then turned off the oven and left the cake in for about an hour, without opening the oven door, before taking it out and cooling on the countertop. (I did use a shallow water bath in a cookie pan, as I do with all cheesecakes, and ran a thin knife around the edge when I took it out of the oven, just in case there was any shrinkage as it cooled.) Perfect cheesecake -- no cracks, and and texture was wonderful. The pumpkin flavor is just right; you can definitely taste it, but it's not overpowering. Everyone raved about it. This will be my go-to pumpkin cheesecake from now on. Thank you for such a great recipe! (NOTE FOR CHEESECAKE NEWBIES: If you use a water bath, wrap your springform pan with *heavy-duty* aluminum foil to prevent leakage. Regular aluminum foil isn't long enough to wrap the pan with one sheet, and water might seep into your cake where the foil sheets overlap.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I followed suggestion and put 13x9inch pan with water in it under cheescake while baking. Terrible result, cake too soft, (too soft cream pie) texture. Not enough pumpkin or spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
made this for thanksgiving and it was loved by everybody I followed the recipe as is But when cooled and refrigerated before serving I topped with whipped cream and chopped pecans everyone loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Have made this cheesecake many times and even non-pumpkin/non-cheesecake people love it. QUESTION: I want to try the Maple Glaze this year. Do you add the glaze at serving or when the cheesecake is warm from the oven? Thank You for help and all the times we' e enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Love love love this!!!! Crave it every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great for inspiration!! This is a pretty good recipe, and baked with the traditional cheesecake method- a water bath, then left in the turned of oven for an hour- it had a perfectly smooth top with NO CRACKS. I agree with the reviewer who said not to add the eggs until the end- overbeaten eggs will cause a cheesecake to rise and fall in the oven, increasing the likelihood of cracks. I did have to change some things, and wanted to change others. After mixing the crust I found it WAY too greasy-I needed to add another 1/4 cup ground pecans and 6 more tablespoons graham cracker crumbs, so I would decrease the butter if I made this again, though I now know I prefer a gingersnap crust. I par baked it for about 5 minutes. Looking over my other pumpkin cheesecake recipes, I noticed that the ones I liked had more pumpkin in them so I increased the pumpkin to 1and 1/8 cups, adding brown instead of white sugar to the pumpkin mixture for a richer flavor, but leaving the white sugar in the cream cheese.I, like others, replaced the mace with nutmeg, and doubled the vanilla, omitting the lemon extract. Finally, I did top it with a thin layer of the maple pecan glaze from another recipe (half the recipe) which was excellent. It was best after sitting in the refrigerator for 24 hours, and tuned out restaurant quality, in my opinion. I will definitely make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This thing is frickin delicious. Told somebody at work about it the other day, and now I just have to make it again. Worth every dollar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is the BEST CHEESECAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sambini
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Im 61 yrs old! Scratch Cooking is one of my strongest passion in life! This Cheesecake is the first attempt to bake one! After reading it and some reviews, i had to go for it, with no regrets! Turned out great and tasted nice, not to sweet nor overbearing in flavors! Im very pleased. Check out the photo I posted. Thanks Cathy for sharing it (Sambini)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States