Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I make cheesecake all the time and this, topped with maple pecan glaze from another recipe, was voted the best ever by my friends. A nice change of pace for fall, or anytime really. The glaze: Simmer 1 cup whipping cream with 3/4 cup real maple syrup for about 20 min; stir in 1/2 cup chopped pecans and chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I followed another reviewers suggestion and made sure the cream cheese and eggs were at room tempature. I made the cheesecake 2 days ahead and it was perfect. I cooked it with a 9x13 pan of water under the cake to prevent cracks. I put pecans on the top edge like the picture and made the pecan glaze as suggested with 1 cup whipping cream, 3/4 cup maple syrup (I used imitation). I didn't add the glaze until right before serving. I omited the vanilla and lemon extracts and the flavor was perfect. I entered the cheesecake into a pumpkin festival baking contest and it won the grand overall prize. The cake is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BragaBit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Every year my husband and I always try a new pumpkin cheesecake recipe. My husband said "the search is over, this is THE ONE!" and I have to agree. The pecans in the crust were wonderful. There wasn't anything about this recipe that wasn't perfect. I did add nutmeg to mine instead of the mace but I doubt that changed the flavor too much. Thank you so much for sharing!!! 7/20/12-we tried this one again and it was a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Excellent Cheesecake!! Very creamy with just a hint of pumpkin pie flavor. Perfect combination. I plan on serving it this Thanksgiving. The only change I made was to add the sour cream topping that was in the "Libby's Pumpkin Cheesecake" recipe. The topping consists of: 16oz sour cream, 1/3 cup granulated sugar and 1 tsp vanilla extract mixed together in small bowl. Spread over surface of warm cheesecake. Bake for 5 additional minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was a very easy cheesecake that baked up perfectly. I substituted two TBS of pumpkin spice for all of the other spices. Was very dense and luscious, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I got RAVE reviews for this recipe with my in-laws at Thanksgiving. I made it twice, once dry and once in a water bath, the dry made a more NY style texture, the waterbath made it really creamy, so it's all preference. I also used a gingersnap crust from another recipe and it worked really well. I never use graham crackers in cheesecake crusts, they seem too boring. This cheescake was the first dessert gone at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This recipe is a staple in my fall desserts! It really is good. For those worried about doing a water bath, you really don't need to. The cornstarch in this recipe actually helps the cake from cracking, so don't skip it! For me, I take a small oven safe bowl and put water in it and place it on a lower rack in the oven. That is to put some moisture in the oven. After 50 minutes or so, I just turn off the oven and leave the cake in it. As the oven cools, so does the cake. Leave it in the oven for about another hour, then I take out the cake. I run a knife around the edge to make sure that none is sticking to the sides (prevent cracking as the cake cools and shrinks). Only after the cake is completely cooled, then cover it with foil (in the pan!) and place in the refrigerator. You should make this a full day ahead of serving (if not longer). The cake is fantastic and you will have people begging for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This was my first cheesecake attempt and was overwhelmed with the success! I did however make one substitution - I used ginger snaps instead of graham crackers! Even my mother [who incidentally makes the best cheesecake in the world] said that this recipe rivalled hers!! Kudos to the author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMELISSA
Home Town: Anna Maria Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was an awesome cheesecake recipe and the perfect dessert for Thanksgiving. It was a great substitution for the pumpkin pie. You can definately taste the pumpkin but it was a perfect blend with the cheesecake. I will definately keep this on the holiday list of things to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This was my first time making cheesecake. Although it was a lot of work, it was so incredibly worth it!! It is so creamy and the crust got rave reviews. I put a layer of ground pecans on the bottom before pouring in the batter, it added wonderful flavor. Every bite is wonderful, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States