Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was the first cheesecake i ever made and it turned out very good. I did however only make a few changes, i added one cup of pumpkin instead of 3/4 cup, added nutmeg instead of mace, and didnt add the lemon. It turned out excellent. The only problem i had was that the crust stuck to the bottom of the pan, even tho i sprayed with pam. Not sure what caused that, maybe because the crust should of been baked for a few minutes before adding the filling, im not sure. But for this being the first cheesecake ive ever made i do have to say it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ginaliss07
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
SO AMAZING. this was such an easy recipe. i did candied pecans on the top and added a little extra butter in t he crust. it had the perfect texture and everyone that tried it loved it!. i did the water bath..kinda. just put a big pan on the bottom rack and filled with water. my cake didnt crack at all! first time too i made chantals ny cheesecake 2 times last year. this was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was amazing! I made it for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it. The only changes I made were to use neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese (1/3 less fat!), nutmeg instead of mace, reduced sugar in filling by about 1/6 c., increased pumpkin from 3/4 c. to 1 c., omitted the lemon extract, and added about 1/8 tsp ground cloves. I also attempted to bake it in a water bath, but even after wrapping the pan in foil, some water seeped through and made the crust soggy. I was devastated, but luckily, after refrigerating it overnight, it was PERFECT! The crust was just a little soggy, but definitely not enough to ruin the cake. It was just the right balance between dense and light. The pecans in the crust were delicious as well. I will definitely make this again (though perhaps not with the water bath next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This reactions this cheesecake got at a company Thanksgiving potluck were almost embarrassing. I just read another review and had to chuckle - "Liz" did the same thing I did ... added the maple glaze from another recipe here (the Maple Pumpkin Cheesecake by Eagle Brand, I think). When I was looking at recipes and trying to decide between the two, it just seemed like the way to go, and reactions validated that choice! Very simple recipe, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Easy and amazing!! I used half fat free, half low fat cream cheese, fat free half & half instead of cream and substituted ginger snaps for graham crackers like others suggested. This is the start to a new Thanksgiving tradition! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This cheesecake is amazing! I omitted the lemon extract and used nutmeg instead of mace. I also used a gingersnap crust (with pecans instead of walnuts). The result was a creamy cheesecake with the right amount of pumpkin flavor. I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I just made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I also made a batch into cupcakes so that it would cook and cool faster, also turned out great. I didn't have mace, so substituted it with all spice. I also put Lite Cool Whip and sprinkled some toasted graham cracker crumbs with pecans on top of the cake. Made it just a tad sweeter, which I think would be not sweet enough without it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made my crust with gingersnaps instead of graham crackers. This came out perfect! It was delicious with whipped cream. I took it to my boyfriends home for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The whole family LOVED it - I have made several cheesecakes from Allrecipes.com, this was hands down the family favorite. I doubled the crust (I love pecan/graham cracker crust) and used the whipping cream/maple syrup topping and it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was the 4th or 5th time I have made this cheesecake. Didn't change anything in the recipe, except I forgot to add the cinnamon. I ended up dusting the top of the cheesecake with cinnamon while it was still baking. I put a shallow pan of water on the rack under the cheesecake while baking and then let the cheesecake cool with the oven door open for 2 hours before moving it to the fridge. NO CRACKS and it settled perfectly. Best looking cheesecake ever! Made the maple glaze as mentioned in other posts. Rave reviews even with the cinnamon mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States