Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is a phenomenal cheesecake recipe. I have made it several time, but always with a variation of the maple pecan glaze suggested by another reviewer. Put 1/2 cup of whipping cream 1/4 cup of maple syrup in a sauce pan and simmer for 20 minutes. Add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and chill the glaze. The glaze just complements the cheesecake perfectly and it also hides any imperfections to the top. Seriously my favorite recipe to make with pumpkin, and I never change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
WOW!!! i made this for thanksgiving dinner and my family just went wild. It was the best cheesecake ever. Next time i will have to make 2!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was great - the crust was amazing. I wish it had tasted just a bit more like cheesecake and a bit less like pumpkin, BUT - it's PUMPKIN cheesecake... so I guess that's okay :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Not the best cheesecake I have ever made but could be due to my own mistakes. I used a dark springform pan and did not adjust the temp. I also did not do a bain marie but did put a bowl of water in the oven to keep moist. I also let it cool in the oven for 1 hour and then on the counter for 1 hour and then in the fridge. I got a few small cracks and the edges and crust seemed way over done. I like a smooth soft cheese cake and this was overcooked. But again, it could be due to my own mistakes. I made a different cheesecake today and adjusted the temp down 25 degrees to account for the dark non stick pan I was using. I also used a bain marie this time and the cake came out perfectly. Don't think I will make again but thought I would give advice for others. So, lesson learned. If using a dark non stick springform, line sides with parchment, lower temp 25 degrees, use a baine marie (wrap sides and bottom of springform with tin foil to ensure water doesn't seep into your pan) and cool in the oven for 1 hr. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
The only change to the recipe I made was to omit lemon extract. I didn't have it. I thought the taste and consistency of the cheesecake was great. The crust just didn't match up to me though. I think I would try something different if doing it again. I cooked it the recommended 50 minutes--no problems setting up the wiggly center, but the crust was overdone in that amount of time. Guests loved it, but I did think it was lacking a bit. Served drizzled with some dulce de leche sauce. Nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was my first attempt at making cheesecake. I made it for a special occasion and my mother, who is a cheesecake connosseur, just loved it!! So did everyone else! It was a lot of work, but worth it. I made sure to slowly cool it down, in off oven, on counter, then fridge. I am not a fan of cheesecake personally, but this was DELISH. followed recipe exactly! Must make for holiday get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I will halve the sugar in the crust next time as it was a little gritty on my teeth, but ooooooohhhhhhhh was the pumpkin cheesecake delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I substituted tart gingersnap cookies for the graham crackers and then made the glaze recommended by the other reviewers with 1 cup heavy cream and 3/4 cup maple syrup. Chill before serving. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Sooooo delicious. Make sure to bring all ingredients to room temperature before using them (to prevent future cracking) and use a water bath in the oven. 1) I used ground walnuts for the crust 2)I added more pumpkin than called for. 3) I ommited the lemon extract 4) Used another reviewer's recommendation for a glaze: Simmer 1 cup whipping cream with 3/4 cup real maple syrup for about 20 min; stir in 1/2 cup chopped pecans and chill. The glaze is a must. However, it does not "look" pretty b/c the chopped pecans are gloopy, so weigh the extraordinary taste of the pecans against the aesthetic presentation concerns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States