Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made 2 of these cheesecakes for thanksgiving, 1 for my family and 1 for my boyfriends family. I thought it was really spicey. I couldn't finish all of my slice. I suggest cutting the spices in half. My boyfriends family said it was good but not great and I agreed so I wasn't upset by their comments. I did the pecans on the top too, which came out to be pecan overload.. in all the cheesecake wasn't that great. I wouldn't make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meenes
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Delicious recipe. I had never made cheesecake before and this recipe made me look like a pro.. I followed it exactly except: 1) I doubled the crust, 2) substituted nutmeg for mace, 3) used light butter instead of regular, and 4) used 2 package of 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese, and 1 package of regular.. in an attempt to make it a little healthier. No one noticed! My only complaint was that the crust was rather wet and wasn't very "crusty". Maybe too much butter? Either way, it was very tastey! I will definitely be making this recipe again. I cooked it in a waterbath and cracked the oven door open after turning the oven off and let the cheesecake sit for about 5 minutes. Then I let it cool on a wire rack for about an hour with a cookie sheet on top of it to slow down the cooling process. Finally, I left it in the refrigerator overnight.. Not a single crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
If I could give it more stars, I would. I didn't use pecans because I don't like them. I even messed up the mixing of the pumpkin pie filling with the cheesecake (I just spread the pumpkin pie mix on top of the other!) and this cheesecake was absolutely delicious. The BEST cheesecake I've ever had. Definitely a keeper (I've already been asked to make this for two separate Christmas parties!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spindale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Wow! Hurray for this recipe! Yummmmy! Especially following SARAH_LIZ’ suggestion of topping it with EAGLE BRAND’S Maple Pecan topping. That is boiling 1 cup of heavy whipping cream with ¾ cup real maple syrup for 20 minutes. Add ½ cup chopped pecans. Chill in the fridge before serving. I decorated with pecan halfs around the edge. Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
A good combo of pumpkin pie and cheesecake. Some of the steps seemed a bit unnecessary (some sugar in the pumpkin mix and some in the cream cheese when you're just going to be mixing them together anyways?) It was definately a sophisticated taste, and while I wasn't nuts about it, my husband liked it which is why the 4 stars. I also didn't care for the maple glaze which many suggested - wish I saved my money on the $8.00 bottle of maple syrup. Probably won't make again, but it was nice to try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Awesome pie!!! It was my first time trying a pumpkin cheesecake and was hit!!! I made the maple pecan glaze to go with it..yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe is simply AMAZING. I made this for my family's thanksgiving and everyone loved it! 5 stars because this is the most delicious cheesecake I have ever had. I was mostly strict to the recipe, but doubled the vanilla and cinnamon, and added pinch more on all of the spices. I thought the additional spices made it perfect and would have been slightly bland without it, but thats just my taste. I also used fresh lime juice because I was out of lemon extract which worked well. I followed other's advice in adding the whipping cream / maple syrup gaze, which made a great addition to the dish, but I ended up with much more then needed to give it a nice even cover, so next time I will try 1/2 recipe first. This recipe is a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
1. This is an easy recipe to make gluten free. As written, the only ingredient with gluten in it is the graham crackers in the crust. To make the crust gluten free replace graham crackers with 3/4 a cup of almond flour and follow the recipe. >>>>2. I made a very simple caramel glaze to top it with. (3/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup water, and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. Stir and bring to a boil. Drizzle over the top before serving. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Wow! This was amazing! I made it for a Pumpkin Party I hosted. One of my friends said, "This is the best cheesecake I have ever had!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This cheesecake was fantastic! I've never made a cheesecake before, but I was spending thanksgiving at my bf's mom's place, so I wanted to bring something delicious- this definitely fit the bill! I read every article I could find about preventing cheesecake cracking and tried all the tricks, and my cheesecake still cracked... so I suggest you just accept this and go with it. On the plus side, the pecan maple glaze recommended by everyone is not only delicious, but looks wonderful on top of the cake (and hides every flaw). I can't really add anything here that hasn't already been said, except for one thing. Most recently I made this cheesecake using Trader Joe's Old Fashioned Cinnamon Grahams for the crust. These are delicious, and I recommend them, but since they are sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, I would halve the white and brown sugar in the crust so it doesn't turn out too sweet. Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States