Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Please don't be scared by the recipe list, essentially it's a pumpkin pie recipe plus a cheesecake recipe so the list is a bit much, but the product is well worth it! The only thing I may increase is the pumpkin next time. You could definitely taste the pumpkin w/the creaminess of the cheesecake. 3 days after Thanksgiving and it's GONE!! It was enjoyed by those who have told me that they don't like pumpkin as well as a couple of people who have told me that they don't like cheesecake. A great recipe!!!! I did not have mace, nor did i want to purchase it for one recipe, so I used allspice instead and it came out great! As long as you follow the recipe and make sure not to overcook the cheesecake (I baked for 55 minutes then let cool and put in the fridge and it turned out beautifully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Wonderfully delicious cheesecake! I ended up making this instead of the standard pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. This is only the 2nd time I have ever made cheesecake and it turned out perfect. I did make some changes by using a gingersnap crust like others from a different recipe on the site (I would recommend half the butter for that crust recipe than what it calls for, the butter oozed out of the pan because there is too much in the original recipe) I also used 1/4 teaspoon of both nutmeg and clove instead of mace and left out the lemon extract and doubled the vanilla. I wrapped the sides of the springform pan with foil and cooked it in a water bath and then turned off the oven at 50 mins and let it cool inside. It was perfectly even, no sinking, no cracks! When it was room temp, I let it set up in the fridge overnight. I recommend before putting in the crust that you cut out a circular liner for the bottom of the pan with parchment paper for easy removal later on (Do not use wax paper! it will melt) I also made a cinnamon whip cream to top it (1 cup heavy cream, 1 teaspoon vanilla and cinnamon, 1/4 powder sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
WOW!!! I've only made one other cheesecake in my life, but I've EATEN a lot of cheesecake and this one was to DIE for!!! So creamy and smooth and with a great flavor. I used pumpkin pie spice (1 tsp) instead of all of the singular spices and it was SO yummy. I also doubled the crust recipe, and that was a WISE idea because the crust has such good flavor. Will DEFINITELY be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I baked it too long, the top cracked and I some how managed to mess up the crust (using ginger snaps). But it tastes fabulous. I subbed the following--skim milk for the cream, 1/4 tsp cloves & 1/4 tsp nutmeg for the mace and the zest of one lemon for the lemon extract. Gobble, Gobble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Very good! I doubled the crust recipe, as I like mine to go up the sides. (Otherwise, the crust is yummy as directed!) I used nutmeg instead of mace, like other reviewers. I also added 1/2 t. of cloves and increased the cinnamon to 2 t. Two mistakes: I overbeat mine...so it rose then fell. Learned for the future and hope you won't do the same. I also lost track of time and baked for an hour. oops. I placed a pan of water in the oven under the cake and had no cracks. Even with my mistakes--yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This it the BEST pumpkin cheesecake I have ever had. Didn't do anything different except one thing. I used ginger snaps instead of graham crackers as one user recommended. Every time I make this it goes right away!! Definitely make this cheesecake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This pumpkin cheesecake is outstanding! I read the reviews first and used gingersnaps instead of the graham crackers... loved it! The only other thing I changed was that I added a sour cream topping (1 container sour cream, 2 Tbs. sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon extract, 1/8 tsp. salt). I would stick with the whipped cream as Cathy recommended, maybe vanilla flavored. The sour cream topping was just a bit too much for the cake. Anyway, it was a great hit - thank you so much for sharing! I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman1011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent; worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Simple divine! I don't like cheesecake very much, but I made this cake for my mom's birthday and everyone LOVED it!! I will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Wonderful. I make these and sell them to my husband's coworkers around the holidays. I've made probably 3 dozen of these and they are fabulous. I don't feel the lemon extract is necessary- doesn't come through at all anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States