Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Made this one for Thanksgiving and it was awesome. I used ginger snaps for the crust, and even though gingersnaps are pretty strong, the crust turned out wonderful, and the cheesecake was delicious. Omitted the pecans in the crust due to a nut allergy in the family, but they were not missed. Thinking about making this again for another holiday dinner. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was delicious! I wanted to do a gingersnap crust, but the weird store near my house didn't have any and I was in a hurry, so I used cinnamon graham crackers for the crumbs and mixed with ground ginger. I also skipped the mace because I didn't have it and added nutmeg and doubled the cinnamon. I could not stop eating this and DH and sister loved it, too. A definite keeper! EDIT: I tried this again and still cannot keep it from cracking (tried water bath, cooling it in the oven, cooking on a lower temp), BUT I found the nut topping below on another site and now my cheescake is gorgeous! Nut Topping: 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar 1/4 cup butter 1/4 cup whipping cream 1 cup chopped toasted pecans In a small heavy saucepan over low heat, combine brown sugar and butter; stir until sugar dissolves. Increase heat to medium-high and bring to a boil; remove from heat and mix in whipping cream and pecans. Pour hot topping over baked cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I chose this recipe because of the crust, and it was heavenly! I see that I accidentally omitted the cornstarch and purposefully omitted the lemon, but the end result was fantastic so it must not have mattered. Not a fan of pumpkin pie, but I think I'll make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Delicious! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! Not too "pumpkiny" and the crust was so yummy! I served it with a maple whipped cream (1/4 C. real maple syrup and a little vanilla extract with whipping cream.) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Wow, what a great cheesecake! I didn't have all of the spices, so improvised using ginger, ground cloves, allspice, and cinnamon. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Fantastic! I love that it's not too dense or heavy...just right. The crust was really delicious with the ground nuts -- a nice twist on the usual graham cracker crust. I am going to be making this cheesecake every Thanksgiving from this point forward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Loved IT, I get asked to make all the time. My husband calls it crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was amazing!! I made it for the first time for a dress rehearsal I was catering for. I wasn't expecting it to be gobbled up so much! (I had to sneak a tiny slice out for my husband to try) He loved it! We're going to break tradition for Thanksgiving and have a pumpkin cheesecake. I made the whipped cream for it too-YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very good cheesecake however, even with the water bath and extra hour in the oven with it turned off, my cheesecake still cracked. I even cooked it for the least amount of time (50 min). I think next time I will lower the temp to 325. I am glad I baked a "test" cheesecake before serving this on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
VERY VERY good! Really easy to make. If you like ginger snaps then definitely do a ginger snap and toasted pecan crust and double the recipe! Served with whipped cream and a caramel sauce (just 1/4 water, 1 cup sugar, bring a boil and let it reach a golden color, slowly add 2/3 of a cup of warm whipped cream, and whisk- let cool and store covered in fridge). Will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WAMommyof4
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was awesome! The only thing I changed in the actual recipe was to use nutmeg and cloves in place of the mace. I added a whipped cream frosting (4oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/16 t. salt, 1/2 t. vanilla- beat together until smooth and fold into 3/4 heavy cream that's been whipped until stiff peaks formed.) to the top and drizzled on the maple syrup glaze (without pecans). So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States