Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Overall delicious. For me, too sweet. I did substitute ginger snaps for the graham cracker crumbs and doubled the amount for crust that surrounded entire cake. Next time I will decrease sugar and maybe increase pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It came out incredible. Here are my changes based on other's suggestions and my own research: -Trade graham cracker crumbs for ginger snaps. Put the snaps in a ziplock bag and hammer them until you have crumbs. Next time, I will double the amount of the crust and run it up the sides too. - I doubled allspice instead of mace and ginger. -I skipped the lemon extract in favor of double vanilla - Despite what the recipe says, add eggs last and don’t mix it too much. The eggs cause the cheesecake to rise, which may cause cracks if there’s too much air in the batter. -Bake for 50 minutes @ 350. To avoid cracks, don’t open the oven for at least the first 30 minutes. --Be sure to use a springform pan (bed bed and beyond) and make a water bath (prevent the cheesecake from cracking). Wrap the bottom and sides of the pan with aluminum foil. Drop it into a larger oven-safe pan or brownie pan that will let you have at least 2 inches of water in it. Boil the water and pour it into the larger pan and cook the whole thing in the oven. -After 50 minutes have ended, turn off the oven, open the oven door and let the cheesecake sit there for an hour. Then take it out of its bath (don’t remove the foil) and let it sit in the fridge overnight. The next day, remove foil and sides of the springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
OK, WOW. I made this as a trial run to see if people liked it and if so, I would make it for Thanksgiving. I took it into work (I'm in the Army) and my Brigade Commander and Battalion Commander were the first to try it. Then everyone else dug in. Smashing success!!! The directions are so logical and the ingredients may seem like a lot, but it's SO worth it. When it finished cooking, I turned off the oven but cracked the door opened and let it cool and had no blemishes or cracks!!! It looked like something out of a magazine!! I used gingersnaps for the crust along with the pecans! BRAVO. Also, no mace here in Germany, so I used nutmeg, it didn't matter, it was WONDERFUL!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I've made many a pumpkin cheesecake before and this seemed much easier than others. I brought it to a potluck and several people commented to me afterwards how much they enjoyed it. The only changes I made orig was to use some nutmeg instead of mace since I could not find that in any of the stores I looked. Next time I will increase the pumpkin a bit and decrease the lemon flavoring as the cheesecake didn't taste all tha pumpkiny. I think with those changes it will make a great thing even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I would like to make this into mini cheesecakes for an office party...any suggestions on bake time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I am going to be making this cheesecake and have one question...does the graham cracker crust only go into the bottom of the pan or does it also go up the sides...Please let me know. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I very rarely give five stars, usually due to changing the recipe a bit here and there. Well, my husband makes this every year for Thanksgiving and it is the best! Even the crust is flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houdini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I didn't like the crust with pecans next time I'm going to try it with almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is wonderful! It is a scary looking recipe at first but it really is simple. I did use a 12in pan, I doubled the crust. I used 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, this is what I had and I didnt want to go buy mace just for this recipe and I left out the lemon extract. I made real whip cream with the left over cream. I made this for Thanksgiving for the entire family and was asked to make it for Christmas. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States