Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Even though I felt the ingredients list was overwhelming when I first found this recipe, I would now swear it's well worth it. Pumpkin pie fans and non-fans enjoyed this creation and I can't wait to bring it home for Thanksgiving this year. The crust is extra-fancy tasting with the pecans. You can taste the highly recognizbale cheesecake flavor and harmonious blend of pie spices with each bite. The extra effort pays off in the end. I cooked mine in a water bath, cracked the oven door open after turning off the stove, and chilled over night. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving last year at my in-laws, and they absolutely loved it. I thought it was really good too. Although I was skeptical about pumpkin cheesecake, the pumpkin flavor is not overpowering. I made one with graham cracker crust and the other with ginger snaps and the ginger snap was much better. I also suggest doing 1.5X the crust recipe. It makes the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Great light flavor! I used this recipe to make mini cheescakes with 1/2 tsp of crushed ginger snaps in the bottom of mini cupcake liners. Turned out great with 15 minutes bake time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I had trouble finding ground mace, so I used slightly less than 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, instead (same family I'm told!). It was great. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. We loved it. It did seem to taste better after a couple of days when the spices and flavors mingled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WAMommyof4
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was awesome! The only thing I changed in the actual recipe was to use nutmeg and cloves in place of the mace. I added a whipped cream frosting (4oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/16 t. salt, 1/2 t. vanilla- beat together until smooth and fold into 3/4 heavy cream that's been whipped until stiff peaks formed.) to the top and drizzled on the maple syrup glaze (without pecans). So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This was wonderful....the family enjoyed every bite...I did however, double the wonderful crust portion for a thicker base. The recipe was clear and logical. Thank you for a wonderful treat, I will use it again...by the way can you add more pumpkin in the recipe?...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I made this for our Christmas dessert, and it was the BEST pumpkin cheesecake I've ever eaten. I made the crust without the pecans, but it was still great. Next time, will make the crust with ginger snaps. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It came out incredible. Here are my changes based on other's suggestions and my own research: -Trade graham cracker crumbs for ginger snaps. Put the snaps in a ziplock bag and hammer them until you have crumbs. Next time, I will double the amount of the crust and run it up the sides too. - I doubled allspice instead of mace and ginger. -I skipped the lemon extract in favor of double vanilla - Despite what the recipe says, add eggs last and don’t mix it too much. The eggs cause the cheesecake to rise, which may cause cracks if there’s too much air in the batter. -Bake for 50 minutes @ 350. To avoid cracks, don’t open the oven for at least the first 30 minutes. --Be sure to use a springform pan (bed bed and beyond) and make a water bath (prevent the cheesecake from cracking). Wrap the bottom and sides of the pan with aluminum foil. Drop it into a larger oven-safe pan or brownie pan that will let you have at least 2 inches of water in it. Boil the water and pour it into the larger pan and cook the whole thing in the oven. -After 50 minutes have ended, turn off the oven, open the oven door and let the cheesecake sit there for an hour. Then take it out of its bath (don’t remove the foil) and let it sit in the fridge overnight. The next day, remove foil and sides of the springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I cook, but am not "a cook." This cheesecake made me look like my talents are much greater than they actually are. This is an amazing recipe that is now a staple at our Thanksgiving and Christmas table. I have made it for friends and family. Everyone loves it. It is so rich that a little goes a very long way, but light enough not to give you that queasy feeling after a hefty serving. There are a lot of ingredients, but it is well worth the extra effort. If you are looking for this type of recipe, try this one first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was an awesome recipe. I substituted ginger snaps for the graham crackers and oh boy was it delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States