Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Tastes very much like pumpkin pie. I wish I had followed the suggestion to bake in a 9x13 pan rather than a jelly roll pan because I think I would prefer them "deeper." For those who do not have pumpkin pie spice, here is how to make the 4 teaspoons called for in this recipe: Mix together 2 t. cinnamon, 1 t. ginger, 1/2 t. allspice and 1/2 t. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
great recipe. i used a 9x13 pan and yellow cake mix instead of pound cake and it was absolutely wonderful. made it for work and everyone asked for the recipe. definetly tastes more like pumpkin pie than cheesecake but i think its better than pumpkin pie because its much creamier. we have a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I made this twice this week for gatherings. Very good recipe. I changed it the second time. I added a ginger snap crust and added a layer of cheese cake(recipe for chescake cups)then the pumpkin on top and baked until a tooth pick came clean. Perfect!!! I will only make this with the layer of cheesecake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARISOLGROETSCH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very good! I didn't think they were too sweet, loved the pumpkin flavor and the spicing was very good (I used the recommended by Mama Cass and added just a pinch of clove), I also added a tsp of vanilla to the pumpkin mix because I don't bake anything sweet without vanilla. I also substituted low fat cream cheese with no problems to cut a little of the fat, and used a 9X13 pan, and baked for 50 minutes, it turned out perfectly. I would recommend spraying the heck out of the pan though, because I had a hard time getting them out of the pan (and I used well-seasoned stoneware, which normally nothing sticks to).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Delicious and easy dish everyone loved it. you can't go wrong unless you did what I did the second time making them, I accidently used pumpkin PIE mix instead of pumpkin puree. still tasted good but definitely wasn't the same:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These were a big hit with my family. I subbed yellow cake mix instead of pound cake and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This is a great quick treat! I wanted a little more cream cheese flavor so I drizzled a cream cheese frosting all over. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Excellent recipe. Everyone at work loved them. I wish they were a little more like cheesecake; they taste just like pumpkin pie squares. Made them in a 9x13 glass casserole. They came out much better the second time (the first batch was gone in a couple days), probably because I baked a good 10 min longer, and also put the nuts on top of the crust before putting in the pumpkin mix. I couldn't find pumpkin spice at the store so I had to call a friend to go online and read me the ingredients someone else posted... 2 t. cinnamon, 1 t. ginger, 1/2 t. allspice and 1/2 t. nutmeg. The recipe should be amended with those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was my first attempt at baking and these tasted amazing. I baked them for about an hour in a 9x13 pan. Be warned--these bars are extremely rich and a little goes a long way! The crust is definitely a keeper, I may try it in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this recently for my husband, who really loves pumpkin pie (I'm not personally a big pumpkin pie fan). He absolutely loved it, and said it's the best dessert he's ever eaten. The next day it was served with whipped cream at a family gathering, and everyone there loved it. I tried it and also thought it was great, even though I don't generally care for pumpkin pie. Before making it, I read some of the other comments that indicated the final product was not really very "cheesecake-like". I wanted to make something basically like a pumpkin-pie flavoured cheesecake, so I made a few changes to the recipe, and it turned out exactly like I wanted. I added an extra package of cream cheese (I used two 250g packages) and an extra egg (for a total of three eggs in the batter, plus the one in the crust). I also added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. For the crust I used a Duncan Hines French Vanilla cake mix, and I made it in a metal 9" X 13" pan (I sprayed the pan generously with cooking spray and had no trouble getting the cake out of the pan). I omitted the pecans as we don't like nuts. I baked it for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States