Pumpkin Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was a hit for thanksgiving everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made this as an accompaniment to Christmas dinner, I felt that it was very delicious. I read several previous reviews before I made it noticing that a lot of reviewers felt that it tasted more like pumpkin pie than flan. The starch in the pumpkin is what prevents the mix from turning into a normal creme, and I tried to get the proportion a little more accurate to ensure good creme'iness. I also prepared the flan in four square ramekins than an 8 x 8 square dish. I loved the presentation that came by using that instead. I think to get a more natural tasting flan, you need to use ramekins, and watch the time they are in the oven. I found that the right time is about 38 minutes. I simply loved a twist that pumpkin provided in this flan recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
this was wonderful!! fast and easy, no way to mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSEVOBREEZE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I understand what an earlier reviewer meant by expecting flan and getting pumpkin pie. It's not that the recipe wasn't good-- it works, it presents well. But flan is so delicately flavored, and this just isn't. It's a lot like a pumpkin pie sans crust. Not worth the trouble for us-- I prefer either regular flan or pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This is one amazing recipe for flan that your guests will love, especially on thanksgiving! Deleriously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
WOW! This was tasty and a great alternative to pumpkin pie for someone watching their weight. I served it to friends, and they applauded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
It tasted like pumpkin pie filling and the glaze was cloudy with pumpkin. It tasted good, but I was expecting flan! A little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
My husband & I loved this. I added my own spices & didn't use the pumpkin pie spice. It was very easy to do and came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICO125

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States