Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
WOW! I thought the cloves might be overpowering but no way. This cake was AWESOME! I used 2 teaspoons of Allspice since I didn't have nutmeg. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I gave this cake a try and am so glad I did. I did a little altering; used 3T. pumpkin pie spice instead of the seperate spices and it turned out fantastic!!! It tasted like pumpkin pie! Mmmmmm. :) I iced the cake with cream cheese. This cake is a MUST for anyone looking for a great dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this with the Whipped Cream Frosting from this site for my daughter's first birthday. I was looking for something that I would feel alright about allowing her a bite of, and this gave me that pleasure. I made a few changes: I used 1/2 of oil, 1/4 cup apple/sweet potato baby food (didn't have applesauce on hand) and 1/4+ cup of apple cider. I baked in two 9" pans for about 40 minutes. The cake was wonderful and the frosting was the perfect complement. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I used all the other reviewers' suggestion plus made some minor changes of my own. Instead of sugar, I used 1 cup of Splenda and 2/3 cup Brn. Sugar Splenda. I didn't have allsprice or cloves so I substituted pumpkin pie spice and I threw in some chocolate chips. The end result was a wonderfully moist, flavorful cake that was low in sugar. I will definitely make this cake again and share the recipe with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I made this cake for my son's first birthday, which was actually Thanksgiving day this year. He has red hair so we call him pumpkin-head. Decorated to look like a pumpkin, this cake not only looked great but tasted great too. I've never made pumpkin cake before, so I have nothing to compare it too - but it was very easy to make. I will definitely use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My family LOVED this recipe, even though I ran out of eggs and used only two. I also cut the oil down to 3/4 since I was using fewer eggs. The result was a thicker batter, so I poured it into a loaf pan and it came out a more of a pumpkin bread. It is super moist, wonderful texture (don't omit the nuts!), and not too sweet. I rated this four stars only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I will use this recipe (albeit altered) the next time I want to make pumpkin bread! It was a deliciously happy accident!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was fabulous! The only change I would make is to add 1 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 1/4 tsp. (Most homemade cakes like this call for 1 1/2 tsp. salt.) I made 2 of these for Halloween. I think I should have followed other reviewers and used 1/2 cup applesauce + 1/2 cup oil. 1 cup of oil is a lot of oil! I frosted the first cake with a homemade buttercream frosting, but it sure made the cake sweet. For the second cake, I used a powdered sugar drizzle (1 cup powdered sugar + 1 Tbl. milk), tinted orange, with green sugar sprinkles on the top of the cake, then I decorated it with some plastic spiders. Festive! I would definitely used the powdered sugar glaze again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Recipe ingredient amount for oil calls for 1 cup - this is WAY TOO MUCH OIL and it was a waste of my time and money to use this recipe. Not edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this cake for thanksgiving this year and my teenaged grandchildren ate the whole thing, I didn't even get a chance to taste it. They said it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This is a good fall cake. It's also an old recipe, which is why it has so much oil and sugar. For the sugar, I only used 1 cup of brown sugar and a half cup of oil. I added all the spices listed, plus ginger and 1 teaspoon of baking powder, then baked it in a 9x13 pan. For those of you who say you skipped the cloves and think the cake is too bland, the cake needs the cloves. We had it with whipped cream. I baked it a bit too long, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States