Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
me and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Smells wonderful cooking. Reminds me of pumpkin bread. I did use a little less sugar and mixed white/brown sugars. It was declicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VDODDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe! I made a few modifications, however. I decided to follow the advice of previous reviewers and used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. I also used 2 1/2 teaspoons of pumpkin spice instead of all the separate spices. The cupcakes turned out great! I frosted them with cream cheese icing and it was a great pair. I would only recommend the reduced sugar if using icing, otherwise it isn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I used about 1.5 tblsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice, and increased the walnuts to closer to a full cup. I couldn't find my bunt pan, so I just used a 9X13 instead and it worked fine. I topped it with cream cheese frosting, and it was delish! Thanks for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This cake had a nice texture. I subbed applesauce for half of the oil & added 1/2 tsp. of each of cardamom & ginger; I reduced cloves to 1/4 tsp. because they easily overpower me. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I made this into a layer cake using a springform pan, and frosted with "Buttercream Icing" from this site--I wouldn't recommend doing that. Even though I reduced the sugar in this recipe substantially, with the frosting it was WAY too sweet for me. It smelled absolutely marvelous while baking, however, and I might try this again with a simple frosting, or in bread pans with no frosting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Absolutely delicious as is! I didn't change a thing on this recipe. Actually made two of them and turned the whole thing into a giant frosted pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
FABULOUS CAKE! I actually jointed allrecipes.com just to review this recipe. My boyfriend said I really should tell other people how much we liked it. . Easy to make, very moist, but holds together. The cake stayed moist for days, delicious taste. I added more cinnamon, powdered ginger, and nutmeg and used more than a cup of whole walnuts halves. It is sweet enough, so we topped it with Greek yogurt drizzed with real maple syrup. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I haven't prepared this recipe yet, but I want to for Saturday,can someone tell me how to make the orange frosting please............ Thank you, Margo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Used this recipe to make cupcakes and made no changes save for omitting the nuts. They were perfectly spiced, moist and with a nice, homey pumpkin flavor. While a cream cheese frosting would be the classic complement, I frosted these with "Wedding Cake Frosting," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellent cake! Only change I made was adding 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Followed rest of recipe as is and frosted cake with cream cheese frosting. Made first cake into cupcakes and then made cake. Both disappeared real quick! Thanks for a great recipe! This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States