Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good. I used half oil and half applesauce. Also used 1 c white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Great use of my frozen homemade pumpkin puree. Tastes like gingerbread. Mmmm... I sifted some powdered sugar on top but the cake absorbed it all by the time I served it so I would recommend doing that right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
We just had a piece of this cake and it was wonderful. I did not have allspice so I used a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice in its place but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We loved it and will make it often. For special occasions I might add a glaze but for an everyday dessert I would not change a thing. Many thanks for another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Lovely, moist, perfectly spiced autumn treat. I have used both pumpkin, as written, as well as mashed sweet potato, which I quick-cooked in the microwave, then slipped them out of their skins and mashed. No discernible taste difference. Absolutely fantastic! I always cut the sugar back to 2 cups, and it comes out just right to our palates. I also add a tsp of ground ginger, which complements pumpkin/sweet potato to perfection. Wonderful, heritage-calibre recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Have made this cake every year for DH's birthday. (at least once each year since 2003!) I use pumpkin pie spice and add a glaze of powdered sugar/vanilla extract/cinnamon/milk. Last year I made this for a dinner party and could NOT find the vanilla (went NUTS), so I substituted Hazelnut extract and it was delicious. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Tried this for the first time and it is amazing. I did how ever take the advice of substituting half of the oil for apple sauce. I sprinkled it with a mixture of powdered sugar and cocoa. Yum, will try frosting it for Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugsy25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Heary
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This cake was incredible. Highly recommend it. We used hershey bar cutouts for the eyes and mouth and a hershey's kiss for the nose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Moist and somewhat tender. Very much like pumpkin bread but a little lighter. I followed the recipe except omitted the nuts because not too many people are fond of nuts. I baked this in a 6 cavity fluted pan to make 3 mini pumpkins. I had to trim some of the bottoms, but the scraps gave me a chance to taste test. I would double the spices because I like my pumpkin goods to pack a punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Good cake - nice and moist. Subbed 1/2 applesauce for oil. Used 2 9" rounds as I don't have a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
yummy..made this today in a tube pan left it plain after baking. added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to batter to make it extra spicy. also had to bake a little longer than 1 hour by 5-minutes or so very moist and flavorful.making it again this weekend and will add nuts this time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
me and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States