Pumpkin Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used to have trouble with my cake cracking until I tried this trick. I wrap an empty cardboard tube from paper towels with wax paper. I place it at the end of the short side of the cake where I will begin rolling. I then roll the cake around the cardboard tube. It supports the cake so that it doesn't crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesertBorn54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
After following to a "t", my cake crack, crack, cracked w/every roll I made. I WILL conquer thsis& then it'll get a 5 star rating. The cake is great, the instructions easy to follow. I just can't get it to roll without breaking. I ended up making a trifle w/it, using a pumpkin mousse recipe from Taste of Home. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I loved this recipe...follwed it exactly. Yum! I only gave it 4 stars JUST because I think 1 cup of walnuts is waaaay too much unless you just want to eat walnuts. I only used 1/3 of a cup and I thought, "Oh, this will be good." It wasn't until I rolled it up that I realized now all the walnuts are clustered together in the roll! There are just too many walnuts in every bite. Definitely love the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I didn't have wax paper, so I used parchment paper and greased it with butter. Still worked great. Used lots of icing sugar on the dish towel. My nieces and nephews loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This did not turn out well at all. The cake ended up very dense and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
this is an excellent pumkpin roll. my whole family enjoyed it. this is definitly on my top ten favorite desserts. it is delicious with or without the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
very easy and great taste. thank you, i'll use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Fabulous recipe! It was the first thing eaten on our dessert buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have been using this recipes for many years, and I am always asked for the recipe. The easiest way to turn out your roll is to first line your pan with wax or parchment paper, 2nd spray your paper with baking Pam ( the one with flour & oil mixed) cook till cake springs back , turn out onto linen towel covered with confectioner sugar, prior to rolling the cake sprinkle confectioner sugar on top of the cake and than roll, it will unroll with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great recipie easy to make,everyone loved it! Thank You for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotttoddynyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States