Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
The cake is amazing. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Best pumpkin cake recipe yet. BUT you really need to take the oil down to only 3/4 cup. You don't need that much and 3/4 cup still makes it really moist. I've made this recipe more than a dozen times and it's always a winner. Just take the oil amount down to 3/4 cup and it's a go!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Super easy to make and a huge hit at work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Vican

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Unbelievable !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I did as others said and used 3/4 cup of Canola oil and 1/2 cup of SWEETEN applesauce. I also cut down the sugar to 1 1/2 cup. Will make again, everyone at my workplace loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Versatile and easy! I doctored the recipe taking a cue from other reviews, and I used 3/4 cup of oil and 1 cup of combined brown and white sugar. I also added more spices, including clove and nutmeg. Instead of regular eggs, I used a cup of "real egg" from Costco, which is mostly egg white beaters. Then, instead of the two cups of flour, I used two cups of a funnel cake mix I'm trying to get rid of. (As you can tell, not a full pantry day!) Because the mix contains some baking powder already, I only added a teaspoon and a half of baking soda and one teaspoon baking powder. Baked in a 9x13 in pan and it was done in 30 minutes. Even with all these adjustments, the cake came out nicely, light and fluffy and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ydoya Wannano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This cake is amazing!! Moist, not too sweet and super yummy! I made mine in a bundt pan and cooked it for 45 minutes. I was going to try the cream cheese II frosting from this site on it but it is delicious without it....fresh from the oven and still warm, I put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on mine! SO GOOD!!!! A million thanks Sue!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I thought this cake turned out great, super moist. I made it as a bundt and baked for about 45-50 minutes. I did the 3/4c oil and 1/.2c applesauce that others suggested but left everything else the same. You could add more spices but it was good as written too. I frosted with cream cheese frosting, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
AWFUL! After looking at the ingredients I questioned the amounts?(oil etc) The taste of the batter is horrible! Thinking after it is cooked it will taste better? WRONG! It didn't cook threw. Remained raw tasted absolutely gross. Only smelled good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This cake was so moist and absolutely decadent! I'm in loveee! I usually am never really good at baking cakes from scratch, but this, my God, this was amazingg! I took the advice of the other reviewers and cut down on the oil. I used 3/4 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I also generally don't like frosted cakes, so I made a sheet cake and when it cooled, I cut it into 2 thin layers and spread the suggested cream cheese frosting between the two layers, so it's now a layer cake! It's almost done and I only made it about 15 hours ago! I'm usually happy about my food when people enjoy them and not just me, so I'm super happy this time! :D I added nutmeg as well and a bit more cinnamon. I also didn't use the vanilla essence, but rather a mixed essence that my mom has been using since I was a child. I got mine at a West Indian store in Queens, NY. I'm definitely going to be trying this again and I'll be sharing it with people; no more tough, dry cakes from me! lol :D MY TWEAKS -Fresh butternut squash steamed and pureed instead of canned -3/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce instead of 1 1/4 oil -Mixed west Indian essence instead of vanilla essence -1/4 tsp nutmeg added to the flour mixture -Baked for 45 mins in metal sheet cake pan, on second rack at 350F - No nuts -Cream cheese frosting in center of cake instead of all over on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veelagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States