Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Using the recommendations from other reviews, I thought this recipe was delicious and perfectly moist! Adjustments I made: 1 cup sugar + 1 cup Splenda, 3/4 c oil + 1/2 c applesauce, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cloves. I didn't mind the Splenda replacement for calorie reduction, definitely still tasted fine, but some may notice the difference in taste/sweetness. I made cupcakes (baked at 325 degrees for about 20 min) and didn't think it needed frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wonderful cake! Worthy of the pie pumpkins I pampered all summer long in my garden. I'm giving this only 4 stars because of the unnecessary amount of oil and sugar, and it needs more spice. All the reviews are so helpful. I cut the sugar down to 1-1/3 C., and will cut back further next time. Added more spice. Baked in a 9x13 pan for about 50 min. For the frosting, used 1 8-oz. cream cheese, 1/4 C. butter, 2 C. powdered sugar, 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla. Perfect amount. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I made the bundt version and did have to cook it quite a bit longer - maybe 50 minutes - but it was so incredibly moist and not at all greasy and oily as some other reviews said. I think perhaps they just didn't cook it nearly long enough. I used the Cream Cheese frosting II recipe and orange sparkles and everyone was raving about it. It will be my new go to for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
good simple and made a lg amount in a sheet pan for Thanksgiving. I made it the night before and covered it with a cream cheese frosting. Delicious. Also, as long as you don't make the frosting too sweet, I found that it was the perfect "not-to Sweet" cake for the males in our family who do not enjoy dessert so much. They liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made cupcakes for a bake sale featuring this recipe with a few changes. Everyone talked about how delicious they were! Instead of white sugar, I used half brown half white. I followed the advice of several reviewers and used 3/4c oil and 1/4c applesauce. With the addition of allspice and nutmeg, the cake was perfectly spiced. I topped with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting on this site and it was fantastic! I would give 5 stars, but it took a lot of tweaking to get what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yummy cake and easy. I was out of oil and that amount seemed high. I used 3/4 cup of crisco and generous amounts of extra pumpkin. It was moist and dense...sliced well...big hit at a recent luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Loved it.. sprinkled chocolate chips on top of the cake about half way thru baking. Awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Made this last night for work today, just as the recipe states, except used 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Used my own cream cheese frosting recipe. Getting rave reviews so far! Moist and delicious. My 12x18 pan was done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Wow! I topped with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting from this site and these are fantastic! I lightened it up a bit by replacing 3/4ths of the oil with applesauce and using egg beaters. I used very healthy teaspoons of cinnamon and omitted the nuts. I got 24 cupcakes and had to bake for 22 minutes. Am going to give the rest away so I don't eat more - they are that good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Caution to those who want to use a bunt pan like the one pictured. It took much longer than the time listed. My cake was full of holes from checking and even then the top browned too much and the bottom was still gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States