Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Our family and friends loved them! We had some friends over to watch a football game and we were looking for something to fix for a quick dessert to go with dinner and stumbled across this. While it wasn't quick, it sounded so yummy we decided to go for it. We admittedly tweaked it a bit. First we decided for the sake of speeding things up, to make cupcakes. Perfect use of this recipe! It's light and delicious and moist! A little messy, we make sure the kids aren't over the carpet to enjoy them but a good change we felt. We used the entire LARGE can of pumpkin. Yes that looks like a lot and is well over the two c. the recipe calls for and no it's not going to be a problem. It made the recipe very, very moist. They were great fresh out of the oven all warm and springy, but they were so much better the next morning after all that pumpkin had truly married with the other ingredients. Go with the extra. We also felt that just cinnamon was probably like a poorly spiced pumpkin pie, a bad call. So we added an 1/8th of a teaspoon of ground ginger and nutmeg to the dry mix. And because I live in the middle of a pecan grove, we used those instead of walnuts. The recipe made 30 standard cupcakes when filling the cups 2/3rds full. They rose well and were a fantastic hit with everyone. Least to say 24 hours later they are gone. And everyone is asking when we're making more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made the adjustments suggested by other reviewers and also added some nutmeg, clove, and ginger. Was very good and moist. Used a 9x13 dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent!! Love it! We use the mix to make cupcakes and they were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was excellent. I made cupcakes instead of cake. I also added some ginger and nutmeg, along with some shredded carrot and about 2 tsp of buttermilk. It is exceptionally smooth and moist and FABULOUS with peanut butter icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was the first time I made pumpkin cake and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was a hit with my whole family! Made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of this recipe at all. I would however take another shot at it with my modifications. Example 1: Reducing the amount of oil. There was so much oil in this cake that while it's moist....there was oil dripping out of it over the following few days that pooled in the center of the plate. Ew. And I thought it was rather bland. If it was not for the cream cheese frosting that I made with it, I would have just thrown it out. That's just my opinion though...my family ate it all up! LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
this is a delicious cake!! i did use the suggestion to replace half the oil with applesauce. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have used this recipe for every holiday since I found it. Everyone loves it. I use fresh pumpkin instead of canned. Since my husband doesn't like cream cheese, I use a basic brown sugar glaze for the topping. I would like to thank the person that posted this recipe it has become a very popular cake in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Oh my goodness! This was wonderful! I used my own home-cooked pumpkin (The pumpkin had extra cinnamon, cloves, and butter from the cooking process) but otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. The only other difference is that I reduced the bake time to 25 minutes. It was all that it claims to be - moist and delicious...and GONE. A keeper, for sure. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States