Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This was so most and delish. Made it last week. Husband took in his lunch for 2 days with other left overs. The guys at his job said hes a lucky man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very strong pumpkin flavor and extremely moist. My friend called it, "pumpkin-tastic!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Easy to put together for a delicious homemade treat. My only sub was to use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the 1 1/4 cup oil. I spread most of the batter in a 9x13 pan and finished the rest in a six inch diameter round cake pan. We got to sample the cake and still had a whole one for guests! Used cream cheese frosting. I am glad that people make changes to recipes and post reviews anyway...I would not have made this with all that oil. Thanks for the information about using applesauce and oil, and even less than called for. It worked fine the way I did it. I cannot understand why people do not want to know about substitutions to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I am sure the reason it stays so moist is all the oil in it but this is the best recipe of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I've just made this cake and it was outstanding, having almost the taste and consistency of pumpkin pie, but so much faster and easier to make. I used 1 2/3 cup sugar, 3/4 cup oil (no added applesauce),two teaspoons vanilla, two teaspoons of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of baking soda, and added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/2 cup golden raisins. Before baking the cake in a 9 x 12 glass baking dish I sprinkled about two tablespoons of brown sugar on top of the batter. Baking time was approximately 35 minutes. After the cake had cooled about 15 minutes, I melted 2 tablespoons unsalted butter in a glass measuring cup in the microwave and added about 4 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice, and then enough powdered sugar to make a thin glaze, which I poured over the cake. A lemon juice glaze would probably also work well, using less juice of course. My husband loved this and so do I. I'm quite picky about which recipes go into my permanent file but this one definitely makes the grade with the changes I made, which make the cake healthier and I suspect perhaps even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INGRID STOCKTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This cake was so moist. I had too small of eggs so increased time by twenty minutes with foil over it so not to burn the edges. I also used self rising flour so omitted salt and added b.soda only. It rose so nicely and I used my own canned pumpkin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used applesauce instead of oil like others suggested. The cake was very moist, but tasted more like an applesauce cake. I think it needed a few more spices other than just cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very quick and easy. I added pecans and topped it with fresh whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
so moist and delicious , i used only 3/4 cup oil . next time i think i will add more flour ,maybe 1 Tbs for each cup , because the texture of the cake was very light & fluffy so i was not able to cut it easily .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Excellent. Very moist. I also used the proportion of oil/apple sauce that others have suggested here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States