Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This cake is delicious! I took the advice of other reviews and used 3/4 c oil + 1/2 c applesauce. I also added more cinnamon plus nutmeg, all spice & cloves because I love spices. I used 1/2 splenda & 1/2 sugar, and it was great. Used a 9 X 13 pan and cake was ready in 35 min. Topped with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site. Everyone is raving about it - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
600 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but I wanted my cake to look like the lovely cake in the photo so if you do too, remember a bundt cake form is going to take longer than 30 minutes! Everybody raved about this cake after dinner, I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I have made this cake so many times and it is always greeted with the BEST reviews. I use a 9x12 and top with Cream Cheese Frosting II (from this site submitted by JJ) and sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar. I have even made a superb apple spice cake with this recipe, simply replacing the pumpkin with an equivalent amount of unsweetened apple butter. This is really something phenomenal... I wish I could give it 10 zillion stars. Thanks Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Very, very moist and delicious. Does not need frosting! I used applesauce--3/4 cup and 1/2 cup oil. I added 1/2 tsp. ground cloves, and 1/4 tsp. ground ginger. My entire family loved it, even my 5 and 2 year olds! Baked as a bundt cake for 45 minutes, or yields approximately 28 muffins (3/4 full), baked for 18-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Did 3/4 c. oil and 1/2 c. unsweet apple sauce, also added 4 tsp pumpkin spice seasoning and 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Did the cream cheese frosting II with 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp pumpkin with an extra half cup of powdered sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla. I had to give more than half of my cake away to guests for leftovers and promised my husbands co-worker I'd make it for their Thanksgiving lunch. Can't wait to make it again, great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Moist, delicious cake. I converted it to cupcakes by just reducing the baking time to 20 minutes. I will definitely add this recipe to my recipe box at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Instead of making a sheet cake, I poured the batter into 3 layer pans, and made a layer cake (bake for 35 minutes). I followed the advice to use 3/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. Also as suggested, I used JJ's cream cheese frosting II on this site, and had enough frosting left over to top the wonderful 90-minute cinnamon rolls, also on this site. I took the layer cake to a potluck and not even a crumb was left. Thank you, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I halved this recipe and used an 8x8 dish. I eliminated the cinnamon and used 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice in its place. This took 35 minutes to bake (center was not cooked through at 30 minutes). I used nutty cream cheese frosting (from this site) and topped with a handful of chopped walnuts. It was SO GOOD and MOIST! My family went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
If someone could come up with a yellow or white cake version of this cake they should PATENT it. I mean, I can only imagine a yellow cake this light, fluffy and moist! Make no mistake, this cake is CAKE, not a heavy, dense quick bread simply baked in a cake pan. It has a beautiful, vivid pumpkin-orange hue, no doubt because it is subtlely spiced with a mere 2 tsp. of cinnamon. I liked that - it was nice to have a pumpkin cake where the flavor of the pumpkin was so bold and not hidden underneath tons of spices. While I would have loved to make this in a cake pan (if for no other reason than simplicity) and drizzled it with a glaze, cupcakes were more practical for my needs. I baked them at 350 degrees, about 23 minutes. I gave them just a little plop of vanilla buttercream to which I added cinnamon to taste. While a cream cheese frosting would have been good too, I liked this combination a lot! I have made a lot of pumpkin cakes over the years, many from this site. I hope I remember this one - it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
EXCELLENT! THE ONLY THING I CHANGED WAS THAT MY HUSBAND LOVES A LOT OF SPICE IN HIS CAKE SO I INCREASED THE SPICES TO 3 tsp. CINNAMON 3 tsp. GINGER and 3 tsp. CLOVES. BE WARNED THIS MAKES A LOT OF CAKE...AND ITS A GOOD THING CAUSE AFTER TOPPING WITH CREAM CHEESE ICING AND CHOPPED WALNUTS IT WENT IN NO TIME FLAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERRYGIRL400
Home Town: Greenup, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States