Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I thought this cake turned out great, super moist. I made it as a bundt and baked for about 45-50 minutes. I did the 3/4c oil and 1/.2c applesauce that others suggested but left everything else the same. You could add more spices but it was good as written too. I frosted with cream cheese frosting, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
AWFUL! After looking at the ingredients I questioned the amounts?(oil etc) The taste of the batter is horrible! Thinking after it is cooked it will taste better? WRONG! It didn't cook threw. Remained raw tasted absolutely gross. Only smelled good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This cake was so moist and absolutely decadent! I'm in loveee! I usually am never really good at baking cakes from scratch, but this, my God, this was amazingg! I took the advice of the other reviewers and cut down on the oil. I used 3/4 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I also generally don't like frosted cakes, so I made a sheet cake and when it cooled, I cut it into 2 thin layers and spread the suggested cream cheese frosting between the two layers, so it's now a layer cake! It's almost done and I only made it about 15 hours ago! I'm usually happy about my food when people enjoy them and not just me, so I'm super happy this time! :D I added nutmeg as well and a bit more cinnamon. I also didn't use the vanilla essence, but rather a mixed essence that my mom has been using since I was a child. I got mine at a West Indian store in Queens, NY. I'm definitely going to be trying this again and I'll be sharing it with people; no more tough, dry cakes from me! lol :D MY TWEAKS -Fresh butternut squash steamed and pureed instead of canned -3/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce instead of 1 1/4 oil -Mixed west Indian essence instead of vanilla essence -1/4 tsp nutmeg added to the flour mixture -Baked for 45 mins in metal sheet cake pan, on second rack at 350F - No nuts -Cream cheese frosting in center of cake instead of all over on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veelagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I just made this, turned out perfect, though I did make some alterations. 1 1/4 cups of oil is an awful lot, so I took the advice of the other reviewers and made some substitutions. I used a half cup of oil, then instead of applesauce I used extra pumpkin to make up the last 3/4 cup. So instead of 1 1/4 cups oil, its 1/2 cup oil plus 3/4 cup pumpkin (a 29 oz can of pumpkin covers all this plus a little extra). I also added extra spices, a 1/4 teaspoon each ginger, nutmeg, and ground cloves. I think it would be bland without the spice, but I like strong flavors. And with the extra pumpkin the spices don't overwhelm the pumpkin flavor. Oh, and I cooked it in a 14.5x11 pan and it was done in 25 minutes (my oven burns a little hot). Overall I plan on using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
There are way better recipes out there for pumpkin cake than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I look forward to fall every year just so I can make this cake! It's so moist and flavorful. Foolproof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Loved this cake and it lasted forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it turned out to be absolutely delicious!! It was super moist and did not even need any icing. We ate the entire thing in a day. Will definately be making this cake again (maybe try them as cupcakes)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Our family and friends loved them! We had some friends over to watch a football game and we were looking for something to fix for a quick dessert to go with dinner and stumbled across this. While it wasn't quick, it sounded so yummy we decided to go for it. We admittedly tweaked it a bit. First we decided for the sake of speeding things up, to make cupcakes. Perfect use of this recipe! It's light and delicious and moist! A little messy, we make sure the kids aren't over the carpet to enjoy them but a good change we felt. We used the entire LARGE can of pumpkin. Yes that looks like a lot and is well over the two c. the recipe calls for and no it's not going to be a problem. It made the recipe very, very moist. They were great fresh out of the oven all warm and springy, but they were so much better the next morning after all that pumpkin had truly married with the other ingredients. Go with the extra. We also felt that just cinnamon was probably like a poorly spiced pumpkin pie, a bad call. So we added an 1/8th of a teaspoon of ground ginger and nutmeg to the dry mix. And because I live in the middle of a pecan grove, we used those instead of walnuts. The recipe made 30 standard cupcakes when filling the cups 2/3rds full. They rose well and were a fantastic hit with everyone. Least to say 24 hours later they are gone. And everyone is asking when we're making more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made the adjustments suggested by other reviewers and also added some nutmeg, clove, and ginger. Was very good and moist. Used a 9x13 dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States