Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
this is a delicious cake!! i did use the suggestion to replace half the oil with applesauce. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Stoltzfus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have used this recipe for every holiday since I found it. Everyone loves it. I use fresh pumpkin instead of canned. Since my husband doesn't like cream cheese, I use a basic brown sugar glaze for the topping. I would like to thank the person that posted this recipe it has become a very popular cake in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Oh my goodness! This was wonderful! I used my own home-cooked pumpkin (The pumpkin had extra cinnamon, cloves, and butter from the cooking process) but otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. The only other difference is that I reduced the bake time to 25 minutes. It was all that it claims to be - moist and delicious...and GONE. A keeper, for sure. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Based on reviews, I used only 1 cup of oil and it was not oily. Topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Using the recommendations from other reviews, I thought this recipe was delicious and perfectly moist! Adjustments I made: 1 cup sugar + 1 cup Splenda, 3/4 c oil + 1/2 c applesauce, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cloves. I didn't mind the Splenda replacement for calorie reduction, definitely still tasted fine, but some may notice the difference in taste/sweetness. I made cupcakes (baked at 325 degrees for about 20 min) and didn't think it needed frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wonderful cake! Worthy of the pie pumpkins I pampered all summer long in my garden. I'm giving this only 4 stars because of the unnecessary amount of oil and sugar, and it needs more spice. All the reviews are so helpful. I cut the sugar down to 1-1/3 C., and will cut back further next time. Added more spice. Baked in a 9x13 pan for about 50 min. For the frosting, used 1 8-oz. cream cheese, 1/4 C. butter, 2 C. powdered sugar, 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla. Perfect amount. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I made the bundt version and did have to cook it quite a bit longer - maybe 50 minutes - but it was so incredibly moist and not at all greasy and oily as some other reviews said. I think perhaps they just didn't cook it nearly long enough. I used the Cream Cheese frosting II recipe and orange sparkles and everyone was raving about it. It will be my new go to for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
good simple and made a lg amount in a sheet pan for Thanksgiving. I made it the night before and covered it with a cream cheese frosting. Delicious. Also, as long as you don't make the frosting too sweet, I found that it was the perfect "not-to Sweet" cake for the males in our family who do not enjoy dessert so much. They liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made cupcakes for a bake sale featuring this recipe with a few changes. Everyone talked about how delicious they were! Instead of white sugar, I used half brown half white. I followed the advice of several reviewers and used 3/4c oil and 1/4c applesauce. With the addition of allspice and nutmeg, the cake was perfectly spiced. I topped with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting on this site and it was fantastic! I would give 5 stars, but it took a lot of tweaking to get what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yummy cake and easy. I was out of oil and that amount seemed high. I used 3/4 cup of crisco and generous amounts of extra pumpkin. It was moist and dense...sliced well...big hit at a recent luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States