Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Versatile and easy! I doctored the recipe taking a cue from other reviews, and I used 3/4 cup of oil and 1 cup of combined brown and white sugar. I also added more spices, including clove and nutmeg. Instead of regular eggs, I used a cup of "real egg" from Costco, which is mostly egg white beaters. Then, instead of the two cups of flour, I used two cups of a funnel cake mix I'm trying to get rid of. (As you can tell, not a full pantry day!) Because the mix contains some baking powder already, I only added a teaspoon and a half of baking soda and one teaspoon baking powder. Baked in a 9x13 in pan and it was done in 30 minutes. Even with all these adjustments, the cake came out nicely, light and fluffy and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ydoya Wannano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This cake is amazing!! Moist, not too sweet and super yummy! I made mine in a bundt pan and cooked it for 45 minutes. I was going to try the cream cheese II frosting from this site on it but it is delicious without it....fresh from the oven and still warm, I put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on mine! SO GOOD!!!! A million thanks Sue!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I thought this cake turned out great, super moist. I made it as a bundt and baked for about 45-50 minutes. I did the 3/4c oil and 1/.2c applesauce that others suggested but left everything else the same. You could add more spices but it was good as written too. I frosted with cream cheese frosting, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
AWFUL! After looking at the ingredients I questioned the amounts?(oil etc) The taste of the batter is horrible! Thinking after it is cooked it will taste better? WRONG! It didn't cook threw. Remained raw tasted absolutely gross. Only smelled good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This cake was so moist and absolutely decadent! I'm in loveee! I usually am never really good at baking cakes from scratch, but this, my God, this was amazingg! I took the advice of the other reviewers and cut down on the oil. I used 3/4 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I also generally don't like frosted cakes, so I made a sheet cake and when it cooled, I cut it into 2 thin layers and spread the suggested cream cheese frosting between the two layers, so it's now a layer cake! It's almost done and I only made it about 15 hours ago! I'm usually happy about my food when people enjoy them and not just me, so I'm super happy this time! :D I added nutmeg as well and a bit more cinnamon. I also didn't use the vanilla essence, but rather a mixed essence that my mom has been using since I was a child. I got mine at a West Indian store in Queens, NY. I'm definitely going to be trying this again and I'll be sharing it with people; no more tough, dry cakes from me! lol :D MY TWEAKS -Fresh butternut squash steamed and pureed instead of canned -3/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce instead of 1 1/4 oil -Mixed west Indian essence instead of vanilla essence -1/4 tsp nutmeg added to the flour mixture -Baked for 45 mins in metal sheet cake pan, on second rack at 350F - No nuts -Cream cheese frosting in center of cake instead of all over on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veelagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I just made this, turned out perfect, though I did make some alterations. 1 1/4 cups of oil is an awful lot, so I took the advice of the other reviewers and made some substitutions. I used a half cup of oil, then instead of applesauce I used extra pumpkin to make up the last 3/4 cup. So instead of 1 1/4 cups oil, its 1/2 cup oil plus 3/4 cup pumpkin (a 29 oz can of pumpkin covers all this plus a little extra). I also added extra spices, a 1/4 teaspoon each ginger, nutmeg, and ground cloves. I think it would be bland without the spice, but I like strong flavors. And with the extra pumpkin the spices don't overwhelm the pumpkin flavor. Oh, and I cooked it in a 14.5x11 pan and it was done in 25 minutes (my oven burns a little hot). Overall I plan on using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
There are way better recipes out there for pumpkin cake than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I look forward to fall every year just so I can make this cake! It's so moist and flavorful. Foolproof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Loved this cake and it lasted forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it turned out to be absolutely delicious!! It was super moist and did not even need any icing. We ate the entire thing in a day. Will definately be making this cake again (maybe try them as cupcakes)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States