Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
this cake is AWESOME! made it for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it and have asked for the recipe. for those of you who think it's too oily - get a life, it's delicious the way it is! leave the dang recipe alone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This got such great reviews from family and friends at Thanksgiving. I made it as the recipe but I put 3/4 cup oil with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, and I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves...It made 24 medium sized cupcakes. It took 25-30 min in 350 degree Celsius oven. Would definitely make this again....it was so moist. Then piped some cream cheese frosting on top....was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I just wanted to add my voice to the chorus of praise for this cake. This cake is SO MOIST, so delicious! I did reduce the amount of oil to 1 cup and I only used 3 eggs (I was trying to make it A LITTLE healthier.) I also frosted it with the Holland Cream (White Cream Filling) from this site. It turned out amazingly well! Rave reviews from everyone! Love it! Will use this as my go-to pumpkin cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very very good. Many other users stated they baked this in a 9x13 pan. I tried this and the middle was not done at all but the edges were getting way too dark so I took it out. I'm trying it again as the recipe suggests - in a sheet pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used this recipe as my first attempt replacing vegetable oil with olive oil and everybody thought it was delicious. I also cut the sugar in half which was well-received by both the health-conscious and those just looking for a tasty party treat. When I was making the batter I thought of one review that complained about how oily it was...maybe the problem was that it calls for 2 cups of pumpkin? That was around a (15 oz)can and a half for me when measuring by volume and not weight...Next time I would adjust the recipe to fit one can of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I adapted this recipe to make a chocolate and pumpkin layer with brown butter frosting. The only changes I made were to up the spice amount and cut a little of the oil (using coconut oil). It came out moist and sooo beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Needs more flavor and flour. As written, this recipe produced flat cupcakes due to too much moisture. My suggestions: Instead of using all vegetable oil, use half butter & half oil. Cake will turn out more tender with a finer texture. Add an additional 1/2c. flour 1/2 t. dry ground ginger 1 t. cinnamon 1/2 t. ground cloves FYI: Don't have canned pumpkin? -Canned drained, pureed sweet potatoes can be substituted for pumpkin. Delicious when topped with a crumb topping too. Make it in small loaf pans for gift giving. Your friends will love it. After making the additions, you'll agree it rates 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
this was one of the best I have tried! Made cupcakes and added cinnamon to basic cream cheese frosting....DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was the best cake that I ever made. Everyone loved it. I did add 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cloves. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II and they worked perfectly together. I baked it in two 9" round pans to turn it into a two layer cake and I needed to bake it for 35 minutes. YUM! I will definitely make this again!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
So simple, so Delicious. Will be making this again in the future. My husband can't get enough of it. He's a picky eater, and went for seconds. A+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States