Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I followed directions,except added more cinnamon,cloves and allspice for a real pumpkin flavor. Made it in 3 8" cake tins/probably next time use my 9" and only 2. I took the tops off to make it flat (had to eat the tops!!!) then I made whipped cream and made a layer cake with the cream. So very light, it is almost impossible to stop eating! Oh,yes, I dusted the top of the whipped cream with cinnamon...I actually had enough to make a layer cake with the flat layers , and another cake with the extra 8" spilt!! Everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Delicious! I followed other reviewers advice and used 3/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and it was terrific and moist. I also used three teaspoons of my spice blend (it contains cinnamon, ginger, cloves, allspice and nutmeg) instead of the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Moist and delicious. baked in a 9 x 13 pan then frosted with cream cheese frosting made with some brown sugar and cinnamon added. Also used pumpkin pie spice in place of cinnamon in the cake. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have tried it as is,and it's delicious. I've been using this recipe tweaked for my family's tastes. I use 1 1/2 C sugar, 1/2 C oil, 3/4 C applesauce, add 1/2 tsp cloves and 1/4 tsp ground ginger. I bake in muffin pans for 18-20 minutes. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Excellenttttt cake. Deserves every star plus more. Try it with the cream cheese frosting II from this site its amazing! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this for my husband- He loved it!! I used 1 c sugar and 1 c brown sugar and as other reviews I added a little ginger, nutmeg and a dash of cloves. I made in a bundt pan and drizzled a maple cream cheese icing on it and topped with crushed pecans. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Probably the best and most moist pumpkin cake I ever made. Made in a bunt pan. Delicious without any frosting! Just sliced and served. Perfect .....don't change a thing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
delicious!! i added pumpkin pie spice and cloves because i love spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excellent, very moist, not too sweet. More like a carrot cake. Pumpkin is a subtle background flavor. I baked this cake yesterday for my daughter's birthday today and she loved it! The can pumpkin is sold in 15 oz. cans and I needed 16 oz. for the 2 cups, so I added 1 oz. of applesauce to make up for it. I will be making it again and again with the cream cheese icing. The bundt pan version will take nearly 1 hr. to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
MAde this for a Halloween Party and it was a hit! I upped the cinnamon to 2t, added 2t of nutmeg, 2t of giner and 1t of cloves and replaced the vanilla with rum extract. I also traded 1/2 cup of oil for unswettened applesauce. It came out delicious and not overly spiced. I used cream cheese frostingII (half recipe) and substituted rum flavoring again for the vanilla. The overall taste was amazing and the moistness of the cake is unbeliveable. I baked in a bundt pan for 1 hour at the recommended temp and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States