Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This cake was a hit with the whole family on Thanksgiving. I did however tweak it a little bit. Instead of using vegetable oil, I used 1/2 a cup of unsweetened apple sauce and 3/4 cup of coconut oil. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ginger and nutmeg. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this cake for a friend of mine who had a birthday. It was so moist and tasty that it hurt to send the rest of it home with her!!! I did add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, allspice, and ground cloves. It was topped with a cream cheese icing. I WILL be making this one again!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made these as cupcakes and added a hint of ginger. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very yummy. I added a bit more spice and mini-chocolate chips, but the rest to a T. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday for a house full of chocolate lovers (a very tough crowd w/ no chocolate in sight). It got rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
this was the most moist cake I have ever had! Big hit for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Wow, this one surprised me. I was expecting a nice moist cake that many would enjoy. But I didn't think I'd receive so many rave reviews for what I figured was a simple cake. I frosted with cream cheese II frosting so it was very similar to a carrot cake IMO. I opted for no nuts because I wasn't sure of possible allergies but some chopped walnuts would have been great on top or on the sides. I used 1 1/4 cups white sugar and 3/4 cups brown sugar. And also took the advice of using only 3/4 cup oil and 1/2 apple sauce instead. I baked two 9" rounds at 375 for 15 minutes and then dropped to 350 and continued for another 12-15 minutes. They came out a lil too brown on top because my kitchen timer failed me but were still very moist. First time using "bake even cake strips" and I'd highly recommend to any cake baker. They help distribute heat throughout the pan so no hard crusty edges or domed centers. Made it much easier to decorate since no leveling was needed. A great Thanksgiving dessert cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was SO easy and super delicious. I made it in a bundt cake pan, baking for 45 minutes. It was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner and made for a great breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I just added a pinch of ground nutmeg and all spice and topped it with powdered sugar. Everyone loved how it turned out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Fantastic and very moist! Made with cream cheese frosting II, but tastes good by itself too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States