Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Made this recipe for thanksgiving supper, and got lots of good reviews and people going for seconds. I topped it off with a glaze mixing 1/2cup icing sugar and 2 tsp milk. Will definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great recipe which lends itself to tweaking it for your own taste, which is why i'm giving it 5 stars. I, too, opted to use 3/4 c. oil and 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce (because i just can't bring myself to use more oil in ANY cake), and also did 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I pumped up the spices as well, adding 1/2 t. more cinnamon, 1 t. nutmeg, 1/2 t. cloves, 1/4 t. ginger, and 1/4 t. allspice. I baked it in a bundt pan for 50 minutes, and iced it with a Caramel Frosting (1/2 recipe) found on Paula Deen's website and sprinkled on 1/2 c. toasted walnuts (omitted nuts in cake itself). It was a HUGE hit! A very moist, flavorful cake that just looked and tasted like the perfect "fall" dessert. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZACHS_MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe is excellent just the way it is. I made it in a bundt pan, frosted with cream cheese icing and drizzled it with chocolate gananche. People had a hard time believing it was pumpkin. Way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My husband said this was the best pumpkin cake he has ever tasted! I read all the reviews and added 4 teaspoons of pumpkin seasoning, an extra 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract, 1/2 c of applesauce unsweet, and 3/4 c of oil ( in lieu of the oil the recipe called for), bundt style for 43 minutes (I have a conventional oven). Next time I will follow the advice of the reviewers and make my own cream cheese frosting...I used Betty Crocker Cream Cheese Icing...but man it was still great!!! Thank you for the recipe and all the reviewers for there great input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnrandles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I also baked this in a bundt pan and it was wonderful! I did not change the recipe at all. I prefer cakes without frosting or icing and the flavor in this cake was so good none was needed. Based on recommendations I may try the applesauce and additional spices the next time I bake this, which will be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
followed to a T (except the walnuts, ick) and i wouldnt change a thing. made pumpkin cream cheese frosting to go on top. deeeeeeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My cake turned out great! I took the advice given by other people to sub.1/2 cup applesauce and 3/4 cup oil. I also used fresh pumpkin; cut in 1/2 lengthwise and cook at 350 for about 40 min (like a squash). If you like a true pumpkin flavor this is great to do!! Good base recipe for adding your own twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have reduced the oil to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup applesauce. Got rave reviews. Frosted with the Basic Cream Cheese Frosting recipe from this site. Have made several times and it will be my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is the best pumpkin cake ever.Made it with walnuts and a week later made it with raisins just as tasty.So moist even after 3 days in the fridge.Made it just the way the recipe said easy and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe is fantastic, I made it for a family get together where 3 of us (including myself) are lactose intolerant. It had great reviews. I did tweek the recipe a little bit. I added 2 tsp ground cloves, 2 tsp pumpkin spice and 2 tsp nutmeg. I made it as a bundt cake, greasing and flouring the pan and upping the cooking time to 45 mins. Once its cooked let it set 10 mins before flipping it onto a plate then let cool completely and covered with whipped cream, it was very yummy!! Will be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States