Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made cupcakes for a bake sale featuring this recipe with a few changes. Everyone talked about how delicious they were! Instead of white sugar, I used half brown half white. I followed the advice of several reviewers and used 3/4c oil and 1/4c applesauce. With the addition of allspice and nutmeg, the cake was perfectly spiced. I topped with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting on this site and it was fantastic! I would give 5 stars, but it took a lot of tweaking to get what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yummy cake and easy. I was out of oil and that amount seemed high. I used 3/4 cup of crisco and generous amounts of extra pumpkin. It was moist and dense...sliced well...big hit at a recent luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Loved it.. sprinkled chocolate chips on top of the cake about half way thru baking. Awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Made this last night for work today, just as the recipe states, except used 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Used my own cream cheese frosting recipe. Getting rave reviews so far! Moist and delicious. My 12x18 pan was done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Wow! I topped with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting from this site and these are fantastic! I lightened it up a bit by replacing 3/4ths of the oil with applesauce and using egg beaters. I used very healthy teaspoons of cinnamon and omitted the nuts. I got 24 cupcakes and had to bake for 22 minutes. Am going to give the rest away so I don't eat more - they are that good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Caution to those who want to use a bunt pan like the one pictured. It took much longer than the time listed. My cake was full of holes from checking and even then the top browned too much and the bottom was still gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was great, my entire family loved it. I made it just as recipe directed, no changes at all. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I added extra cinnamon, allspice, cloves, and ginger, and I still felt that the pumpkin somehow blandly overpowered the spice. I was hoping for a strong spice flavor. I made cupcakes (350 degress for 20 minutes), and I felt that they were a bit denser than I would have liked. I did decrease oil and added applesauce as others had suggested. I also used cream cheese frosting II from this site. Not sure that I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is AWESOME!! As with all my recipes I substituted all the the oil with unsweetened applesauce. (Not sure why some people do 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce. )The cake was so moist and flavorfull! Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Mickle Bock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Fantastic! I'm a little more liberal with the spices because I love them.. I also added 3/4 cup of cinnamon chips and pecans. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs

Displaying results 111-120 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States