Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Oh my goodness! This was wonderful! I used my own home-cooked pumpkin (The pumpkin had extra cinnamon, cloves, and butter from the cooking process) but otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. The only other difference is that I reduced the bake time to 25 minutes. It was all that it claims to be - moist and delicious...and GONE. A keeper, for sure. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Based on reviews, I used only 1 cup of oil and it was not oily. Topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Using the recommendations from other reviews, I thought this recipe was delicious and perfectly moist! Adjustments I made: 1 cup sugar + 1 cup Splenda, 3/4 c oil + 1/2 c applesauce, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cloves. I didn't mind the Splenda replacement for calorie reduction, definitely still tasted fine, but some may notice the difference in taste/sweetness. I made cupcakes (baked at 325 degrees for about 20 min) and didn't think it needed frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wonderful cake! Worthy of the pie pumpkins I pampered all summer long in my garden. I'm giving this only 4 stars because of the unnecessary amount of oil and sugar, and it needs more spice. All the reviews are so helpful. I cut the sugar down to 1-1/3 C., and will cut back further next time. Added more spice. Baked in a 9x13 pan for about 50 min. For the frosting, used 1 8-oz. cream cheese, 1/4 C. butter, 2 C. powdered sugar, 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla. Perfect amount. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I made the bundt version and did have to cook it quite a bit longer - maybe 50 minutes - but it was so incredibly moist and not at all greasy and oily as some other reviews said. I think perhaps they just didn't cook it nearly long enough. I used the Cream Cheese frosting II recipe and orange sparkles and everyone was raving about it. It will be my new go to for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
good simple and made a lg amount in a sheet pan for Thanksgiving. I made it the night before and covered it with a cream cheese frosting. Delicious. Also, as long as you don't make the frosting too sweet, I found that it was the perfect "not-to Sweet" cake for the males in our family who do not enjoy dessert so much. They liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made cupcakes for a bake sale featuring this recipe with a few changes. Everyone talked about how delicious they were! Instead of white sugar, I used half brown half white. I followed the advice of several reviewers and used 3/4c oil and 1/4c applesauce. With the addition of allspice and nutmeg, the cake was perfectly spiced. I topped with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting on this site and it was fantastic! I would give 5 stars, but it took a lot of tweaking to get what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yummy cake and easy. I was out of oil and that amount seemed high. I used 3/4 cup of crisco and generous amounts of extra pumpkin. It was moist and dense...sliced well...big hit at a recent luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Loved it.. sprinkled chocolate chips on top of the cake about half way thru baking. Awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Made this last night for work today, just as the recipe states, except used 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Used my own cream cheese frosting recipe. Getting rave reviews so far! Moist and delicious. My 12x18 pan was done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States