Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I was excited to make this after reading the reviews, but I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was bland, not very moist and the outside was hard and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly and got an amazing cake! Not oily but moist and addictive. Definitely cake texture. It is, however, a LOT of batter and after filling my ring pan I also filled a 9X9 pan. Don't see the need for any icing - it's great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was a wonderfully easy recipe and very yummy. I did change to half brown sugar and half regular sugar and also added nutmeg. Frosted it with a cream cheese frosting and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Turned out like a dream. After reading some reviews concerning the oily quality of the cake I substituted 1 cup of the oil with apple sauce. Still moist and yummy. I also added a dash of pumpkin pie seasoning. There's no need for frosting and/or ice cream. It's heavenly just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
this was nice - I added some chocolate chips and a chocolate frosting. My little son stuffed his face! Will definitely make again (sans the chocolate) for his daycare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
VERY tasty and moist cake. I put raisins and walnuts. My dude would have preferred it without the raisins. I thought they were great. I've chopped the raisins in the past for other recipes to take away the little pockets of raisin texture so I'll do that next time for this. I served it with fresh whipped cream and crystallized ginger. I have a feeling that this would make fabulous muffins. This has a very strong pumpkin flavor (which I lurve). If you don't love pumpkin then keep recipe searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This is an awesome cake! I made it gluten free with 1/2 rice flour and 1/2 Bob's Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour and also low fat, with Egg Beaters. I sprayed the bundt pan really well with Pam, then floured it with the mixture of gluten free flours I used in the cake and it just came right out of the pan. It was very moist and the cinnamon gave it a subtle, but satisfying flavor. Perfect with ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I served this at an office birthday party and received rave reviews! Several people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Okay, but it was like pumpkin bread with far too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Delicious and easy recipe. 1/2 the recipe makes a nice 9x9 cake, baked 30 min. Increased the spices a bit and included 1 t pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States