Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Today seemed like a good day to make this cake. I added mini choclate chips and a little more spices. I will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is excellent! I substituted 1 cup of flour for whole wheat and 1/2 cup oil for applesauce and sprinkled walnuts on top before baking. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
If you LOVE PUMPKIN - you have to make this. A delicious cake for Fall, but too delicious to only eat one season out of the year! I made mine in a Bundt pan - it made a big cake, but didn't overflow the pan while baking. Used 1/2 brown sugar - just personal preferance - and added a double dash of cloves. Since we also love cream cheese, I made a frosting that was more cheese taste than sugar (add less confectioner's sugar) and that brought together the pumpkin/cheese flavors perfectly. A really good dessert for family dinner or to take to the office. Works with the substitution of egg beaters/applesauce or add in of your choice - raisens/choc chips/toasted nuts. Easy, versatile and DELICOUS - can't ask for more than that!Note: You can make two bundt cakes out of this recipe unless you want one huge one. If you divide it evenly between two pans you get two perfect bundts - one to take and one to leave at home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good but I was expecting a little more. It is very moist but the center didn't cook all the way and the top was burning. May have been my oven. I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've made this cake at least four times this season and I may make it one more time. It is perfect, moist and yummy, and doesn't take much time to whip up at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe is almost identical to one I make myself and is very good and never lasts long in our home. The key to keeping this cake from becoming hard and dry is to be sure to remove it from the oven as soon as its done. The brown sugar in it will burn and harden if left in too long. An excellent homemade icing for this cake is Cream Cheese Icing: 1 pkg. cream cheese (room temp), 1/2 stick unsalted butter (room temp) blended until smooth with a mixer. Add in confectioners sugar until you get your desired sweetness and texture. The easiest and best cream cheese icing I have ever tried. Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
i made this for my thanksgiving table and it was breathtaking i will sure make it every year and a few times in the fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Alright, but disappointed since there where such high reviews from others.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was excited to come across this recipe because it is one that I can make for my grandson, who has dairy allergies...and has just discovered that he likes all things "pumpkin" and "sweet potatoes". I made this as written, but added a cup of Ghiradelli bittersweet chips to the batter before baking. This is a very good cake that gets better as it sits. Next time I make this I plan to add a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to add more depth. (I would also like to try this with a cream cheese frosting when not making this for my grandson.) Thank you, Jennifer, for sharing this recipe. My grandson ate two huge pieces and took half the cake home with him (he is only six), and he seems to enjoy the fact that he gets something made "special" just for him; I enjoy...and appreciate...the fact that good cooks like yourself share your recipes so that I can make my grandson "special" dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I was excited to make this after reading the reviews, but I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was bland, not very moist and the outside was hard and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States