Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I give it 4 stars because I think it needed a bit more than 10X (confectioners') sugar for frosting. I made it in a bundt pan, using pecans instead of walnuts. I drizzled a glaze over the cake made from 10X, maple syrup, maple extract and half and half to thin it. I topped the glaze with more nuts. My family said it was five stars with the added topping. The cake itself is wonderful...moist and not too sweet, and it could not be easier. I'll make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very moist. Also good with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssia
Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this cake was delicious! i'll definetely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
While this turned out very pretty we all thought it rather bland tasting. I made this several days ago and had to toss the rest of the cake (over half) since it didn't get eaten, a rarity at this house. I left the nuts out, but that didn't affect the cake enough to alter my rating. Sorry this just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this cake for my daughter's baby shower. Everyone loved it!! My 3 year old Grandson had 2 pieces! I also cut down on the oil by using half oil half applesauce and cut the sugar a bit too. Instead of icing the cake with the traditional cream cheese, I iced it with whipped cream. Just like pumpkin pie! There wasn't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I was disappointed with this recipe. The cake was definitely moist, but I feel it lacked flavor. I was expecting the cake to taste like pumpkin. It didn't. If I were to make this again, I would use much less oil and add some pumpkin pie spice, cloves, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
A winner. Very moist! I drizzled a maple glaze over it. A great fall dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This turned out wonderful. I used a pumpkin shaped muffin pan and the mini pumpkin cakes were adorable as well as delicious. I did not add the nuts however and I used cream cheese frosting instead of powdered sugar. I served these at a party along with a pound cake recipe I found on here and everyone loved both. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
One bite and my dude said "This is a keeper." It came out delicious. It is very moist and full of flavor. I added 1/2 a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I maded this cake without the nuts and it was still fantastic!!! It actually tasted better a couple days later. Followed the recipe to a t and had a beautiful tall cake-no icing needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States