Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The cake was very good but it was very oily. I want to make a way to make it into a butter mixture then I think it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Super easy recipe, with a great taste. I didn't bake it in a tube pan, I used a regular cake pan. It also took a bit longer to cook. It turned out very moist, and nobody could guess it was made out of pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was DEEElicious!It was a BIG hit for a fall gathering I had. I cut the oil to 1 cup, added raisins, 1 t nutmeg, 1 t ground clove. I cooked it in a bunt cake pan in the convection oven. It only took about 45 minutes to cook - it probably was ready in about 42 minutes. I glazed it with some melted vanilla frosting. My husband asked me to make about three more of them! :) Tasted even better the next morning for breakfast. I will be making this again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
OMG! I made this for the office and everybody said it was the best pumpkin cake they'd ever had. I did the half oil switch for applesauce and added some nutmeg and allspice (1/2 tsp?). I will be holding onto this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this gluten free... and forgot to put the nuts in.. so I added them to the top.. so moist and so good.. not one crumb went to waste. A keeper! oh and we did use half applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I have made this twice. The first time as is, for which I will rate it four stars. The second time, I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. ginger, and that made it even better. This is a moist, dense cake, best suited for a bundt pan. Both times I frosted it with ermine frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is exactly what I wanted. A moist, soft, pumpkin cake. Based on other reviews I added 2 tablespoons vanilla and pumkin pie spice II (1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger, 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves) and substituted half the flower for whole wheat flower. The flavor was perfect with the added spices. I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II ( 2 (8 ounce) packages softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup softened butter, 2 cups sifted confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract). I also added 2 teaspoons of nutmeg to the frosting. It came out so well that it will be a new holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this using a single 29 oz can of Libby's pumpkin instead of 2 cups. I also split the batter and made 2 cakes using 2 ten inch round pans, about 2 in deep. Other changes include adding 4 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, grape seed oil instead of vegetable oil (healthier), raw sugar instead of white and no nuts. I check them at 55 mins with a toothpick. These cakes are incredibly moist and need no icing or additional topping whatsoever and is dairy free. EVERYBODY loves it and its not too spicy or overwhelming pumpkiny (if that's a word) and its really easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
A perfect pumpkin cake recipe! I followed this recipe, omitting the nuts and baking into cupcakes. The cupcakes were perfect and beautiful and tasty as they were, but I decorated them with a simple cream cheese frosting. I received a lot of great feedback from coworkers about how moist and yummy they were. I loved the true pumpkin flavor of these, with just a hint of cinnamon flavor coming through - not complicated with extra spices. A full batch easily made over 30 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great receipe-Used bundt pan-Just mixed all ingredients and placed in pan. Came out perfect and is light tasting and not real sweet. Just the way I like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KINGSFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States