Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
SO MOIST and delicious. By far the best pumpkin cake I've had or made. Very flavorful, although I did add perhaps 1/4 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (which I would recommend). There is no need to frost it, but if you do, cream cheese frosting would compliment it. I made this for my office, and it was gobbled up in a snap. Great for potlucks - will definitely make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I added a whole (29 oz) can of pumpkin as other reviewers suggested, but it was VERY dense, but tasted great with a glass of milk. It needs more than 1 cup, but not quite as much as a whole can. My kids asked for a cheetah cake, but I didn't have any red, yellow, or orange food coloring. I found this recipe and added chocolate chips - success! I love how easy it is to impress little kids. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
OK, following other people's suggestions I did this: Decrease sugar to 1/2 cup, increase water to 1/2 cup and use one whole can pumpkin. For spices, I blended 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. cloves and mixed with dry ingredients. Then add wet ingredients. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 min. Came out so delicious and moist - even more so next day! You MUST use Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was looking forward to being more impressed with all of the great reviews... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used a gluten-free vanilla cake mix, this was very good cake, my 3 year old son said it was the best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Awesome!! Easiest cake ever and perfect flavor! Will make this again and again and again. We tried it warm with butter and also added a powdered sugar icing/glaze and both was was excellent. My whole family was in love with this and that is a rarity! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Good , moist cake. I'm not sucha fan of pumpkin pie and my boyfriend hates sweet potatoes and is allergic to pecans, so I made this for Thanksgiving. I added a lot more spices--ginger, more cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. I baked it in two round pans and frosted with cream cheese frosting. It's good, but not spectacular enough for a Thanksgiving meal. Ill make it again, but not for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe was easy. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar which was still plenty sweet. The texture of the cake is strange, even my husband agreed. I used 4 teaspons of pumpkin pie spice. I also made a cream cheese/conf. sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I used an entire can of pumpkin, added pumpkin spices as others have done and used 2/3 cup sugar. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delicious! The only things I changed were that I used Spice Cake mix instead of yellow cake. I didn't have to add the extra cinnamon and I added only about 1/2 cup of sugar. I used a whole can of pumpkin. It was very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States