Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I just made this and it is deliciously moist...in fact needs no icing. I used 1/2 c. sugar and a whole can of pumpkin, 2 tsp cinnamon because I love cinnamon. I am going to make this for Thanksgiving as I am always in charge of desserts and along with the traditional pumpkin pie will also be a pumpkin cake..yum! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kane, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I made this recipie into cupcakes and they were a smash! I forsted them with a buttercream and sprinkled a little brown suger on top for looks. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet_nothings101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My kids love pumpkin bread but this is so much more moist! The ends seem to get tough when I make bread. I make it for an easy breakfast. We warm it up an put a little butter on it. Make the house smell yummy. I alter it some: 1/4 c oil, 1/4 c applesauce, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp of cloves, allspice and nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cinnamon. The rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Awesome recipe and so easy too! I made 24 cupcakes instead of a 9x13 pan and only baked it for 20 minutes instead. I also decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and substituted the cinnamon with pumpkin pie spice. It came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pudding_cup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I don't like pumpkin, but my husband and three kids DEVOURED this! I used the whole can of pumpkin (15oz), baked them in a muffin tin (24 muffins) and topped them with a powdered sugar/vanilla/milk glaze. A huge hit....will be making another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
it was ok - used 1/2 sugar, applesauce instead of oil and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Loved this cake! I did use the entire can of pumpkin was my only alteration. I baked as a layer cake and iced with a cream cheese icing that my daughter tinted orange. Sooooo moist and mildly pumpkin flavored. The whole family loved it. Even my skeptical husband and my pumpkin hating daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
SO MOIST and delicious. By far the best pumpkin cake I've had or made. Very flavorful, although I did add perhaps 1/4 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (which I would recommend). There is no need to frost it, but if you do, cream cheese frosting would compliment it. I made this for my office, and it was gobbled up in a snap. Great for potlucks - will definitely make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I added a whole (29 oz) can of pumpkin as other reviewers suggested, but it was VERY dense, but tasted great with a glass of milk. It needs more than 1 cup, but not quite as much as a whole can. My kids asked for a cheetah cake, but I didn't have any red, yellow, or orange food coloring. I found this recipe and added chocolate chips - success! I love how easy it is to impress little kids. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
OK, following other people's suggestions I did this: Decrease sugar to 1/2 cup, increase water to 1/2 cup and use one whole can pumpkin. For spices, I blended 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. cloves and mixed with dry ingredients. Then add wet ingredients. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 min. Came out so delicious and moist - even more so next day! You MUST use Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States