Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an easy, tasty recipe. I followed some of the other reviewers and used 2/3 cup sugar, 1 15-oz can of pumpkin, 1/4 cup milk instead of water, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I live at high altitude, so I added a scant 1/4 cup flour and baked the cake in a heavy-gauge Bundt pan at 350 degrees for about 30-35 minutes. A dusting of confectioners' sugar is all you need, but the cream cheese glaze or a caramel glaze would go well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this cake. It's one of the best cakes i've ever tried. The only problem I had was when baking in a bundt pan, it sticks. I thought it stuck the first time because I only sprayed it with cooking spray. So the second time I greased and floured the pan, thoroughly, but it still stuck on the sides and the center. It's still edible, just not as pretty. I was going to take it to my fam's christmas dinner, but I am going to make another one and use a 13x9 cake pan instead. I will keep the messed up one for my house. (yay!) I also decreased sugar to 2/3 cup and used 15 oz of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this cake for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I followed some of the other suggestions and used two cups of fresh pumpkin, 1/2 a cup of sugar and included some nutmeg and cloves. I iced it with some vanilla icing and voila! One of the best cakes I have ever made and will be sure to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
this cake was amazing!! I added 1/2 tsp clove and 1 tsp nutmeg. I also used one less egg as my cake mix called for 3 and the 14oz can of pumpkin makes things a little wet. I made a cream cheese glaze using 4tbsp butter, 1/2c. cream cheese, 1c. powdered sugar and 4tbsp milk, blended together and drizzled over top. I took it to a dinner party and nothing came home with us!!! so good, thanks for sharing. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I just made this and it is deliciously moist...in fact needs no icing. I used 1/2 c. sugar and a whole can of pumpkin, 2 tsp cinnamon because I love cinnamon. I am going to make this for Thanksgiving as I am always in charge of desserts and along with the traditional pumpkin pie will also be a pumpkin cake..yum! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kane, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I made this recipie into cupcakes and they were a smash! I forsted them with a buttercream and sprinkled a little brown suger on top for looks. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet_nothings101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My kids love pumpkin bread but this is so much more moist! The ends seem to get tough when I make bread. I make it for an easy breakfast. We warm it up an put a little butter on it. Make the house smell yummy. I alter it some: 1/4 c oil, 1/4 c applesauce, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp of cloves, allspice and nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cinnamon. The rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Awesome recipe and so easy too! I made 24 cupcakes instead of a 9x13 pan and only baked it for 20 minutes instead. I also decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and substituted the cinnamon with pumpkin pie spice. It came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pudding_cup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I don't like pumpkin, but my husband and three kids DEVOURED this! I used the whole can of pumpkin (15oz), baked them in a muffin tin (24 muffins) and topped them with a powdered sugar/vanilla/milk glaze. A huge hit....will be making another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
it was ok - used 1/2 sugar, applesauce instead of oil and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States