Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Following others suggestions, I added a 15 oz can of pumpkin and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I wanted to make it a chocolate pumpkin cake, so I added 1 cup mini chocolate chips to the batter and topped the cake with a chocolate glaze after cooling. To make the glaze - Melt 2 tablespoon semi-sweet or unsweetened chocolate(I use semi-sweet), with 1 tablespoon margarine. Add ¾ cup powdered sugar, ½ teaspoon vanilla and 4-6 tablespoons hot water and mix until smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
After reading a few of the reviews I too made a few changes, I also added the full can of pumpkin, extra cinnamon, nutmeg and a little ginger, I also added walnuts. I kept the sugar as stated in recipe and it was fine. I did it in a two layer pan and once cooled put cream cheese icing in the middle and on top only. My family Loved it, it was so moist and tasty. this will be one of my thanksgivng Desserts this year !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Pretty tasty and easy! I followed the posted recipe as far as measurements go, but I added a little extra cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and a tiny pinch of allspice. I frosted it with a cream cheese frosting. It was pretty tasty and very moist. I couldn't taste much pumkin flavor though. I might try using pumpkin pie mix instead of plain pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Made this cake b/c I was craving a pumpkin dessert. Four stars only because I tweaked it. Added cinnamon, allspice & nutmeg. Also decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and, because I had it, used 1/2 cup of coconut oil instead of the veggie oil. Whole can of pumpkin used too! Very moist! I'm wondering if I can make a sweet potato cake using the same methods as this one?? Stay tuned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
try using an orange cake mix, really changes it, but in a good way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent, quick cake! My hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Really like it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Used a white cake mix, substituted brown sugar for white, used a heaping teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Delicious! Moist, tasty, easy to make. Wife made a cream cheese frosting for it. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe was SUCH a hit with my daughters grade 3 class, that I wanted to make another batch for home... I just happened to have a boxed "Butter Pecan" cake mix in my cupboard, so I substituted it for the yellow cake... SO delicious!!!! I did them as cup cakes, frosted them with whipped cream cheese icing and sprinkled a tiny bit of cinnamon sugar for garnish. They're amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an easy, tasty recipe. I followed some of the other reviewers and used 2/3 cup sugar, 1 15-oz can of pumpkin, 1/4 cup milk instead of water, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I live at high altitude, so I added a scant 1/4 cup flour and baked the cake in a heavy-gauge Bundt pan at 350 degrees for about 30-35 minutes. A dusting of confectioners' sugar is all you need, but the cream cheese glaze or a caramel glaze would go well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States