Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This has become my go-to cake for get togethers with friends. It always is finished to the last crumb with lots of compliments. I reduced the sugar slightly, increased the pumpkin, and added pumpkin pie spices as other reviews suggested, but feel that's just a matter of taste. I don't recommend using cooking spray on the bundt pan as I had trouble with the cake sticking. I went back to greasing and flouring the pan and it slipped out perfectly. I highly recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
What do you preheat the oven to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Very good, easy to make & moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
my family loved this cake. I made a frosting with whipped cream & pumpkin pie spice pudding & & drizzled caramel sauce & heath toffee bits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inwood, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Yummy! After reading a few other reviews for this recipe and similar ones, here's my ingredient list: 15 oz. Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix, 1 pkg. spice cake mix, 1/2 C oil (although I will try 1/4 next time), 1/4 C water, 4 eggs, 1 tsp each: cinnamon, ginger, cloves; sprinkle of nutmeg. NOTE: no need for addtl sugar when using the Pumpkin Pie Mix. Used Bundt pan, baked 350 for 55 min.. Check after 45, then if needed, bake/check in 5 min intervals. Glaze: 1/4-1/2 C powdered sugar, 4 TB milk, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 TB melted butter. Whisk together in bowl; pour over cake. Thank you Blinkers88
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I added nutmeg and clove to this and WOW. It tasted like eating pumpkin pie in cake form!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I followed others advice and reduced sugar, added pumpkin pie spice, and used whole can of pumpkin. I used milk instead of water and melted butter for the oil. I made these into cupcakes and topped with salted caramel frosting, drizzled with caramel sauce, added fall colored sprinkles, and topped with a candy pumpkin. Big hit with the work crew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surgerygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very moist! I reduced sugar to 1/2 cup, used who,e can of pumpkin as suggested. I didn't have pumpkin spice so I only used cinnamon, they are a bit bland, need more spice! I made cupcakes (yielded 30) baked for about 17 min. Topped some with cinnamon streusel, some with caramel frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Used a butter pecan cake mix, whole can of pumpkin, and extra spices. Amazing. Also make bunt cake and baked for 45 mins. Did a cream cheese drizzle over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Mac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I know I should only rate this as made to the exact recipe, however it was pretty good with the adjustments I made. I am a huge pumpkin person! I added the whole can of pumpkin, reduced sugar to 1/2 cup and put not quite a whole tablespoon of cinnamon and pumpkin spice in it, I used a cupcake pan and made about 20. I cooked them for 20 mins @ 350 and they were nice, warm and very moist. I used the cupcake liners and it was the only mistake. Next time I will just spray with Pam, as the bottom stuck to the paper.It may have been that they were just still to warm. I had to eat one while putting them in my carrying case. I didn't have powdered sugar but next time I will be prepared so that I can ice them! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States