Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
OMG!!! This is a wonderful cake! I did change a couple of things. I used brown sugar instead of white, eggnog instead of water, 15 oz. of canned pumpkin pie mix instead of plain pumpkin, and additional cinnamon, and some nutmeg. I made a glaze with conf. sugar, and eggnog. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This cake is an EXCELLENT cake for the holidays! It is very very moist and the flavor is incredible! As others did, I used 15oz Pumpkin, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg, 2 tsp Cinnamon. Can't wait to take it to the family dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Wow, this is a snap to put together, and so MOIST! I used 1 can of pumpkin (15 oz) and was surprised that it wasn't more pumpkin flavored (was a subtle pumpkin flavor) - added nutmeg, cut back on the sugar some (the cake mix is sugar'y enough) and made in a bundt - served with whipped topping. We all loved it - sent Mom home with leftovers (and she's a chocoholic, so that says a lot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
While this was super easy and quick I did feel it needed more spices and I did add more than called for but I will try again with a spice cake I did love how simple it was to throw together I frosted the cake with cream cheese icing from ar: EDIT... I made this again with the spice cake mix and wow was it good! Will make it like this from now on..5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Super cake! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Improve your glaze for a pumpkin cake by adding 20 drops of yellow food coloring and 5 drops of red food coloring. It makes the prettiest pumpkin orange color!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I have an allergy to dairy products, so I'm always on the lookout for recipes that don't include them and this one is one of my favorites by far! I love pumpkin, but can't have most pumpkin pies, etc., so this makes a great subsitute. I'd definitely recommend using the full can of pumpkin like others suggested, reducing the amount of sugar and adding more pumpkin pie type spices. I just use Duncan Hines Classic Vanilla frosting from the can (there's no dairy in it) instead of cream cheese frosting and it still tastes great! I even introduced this recipe to my best friend and it's now a reoccuring treat at her family holiday parties, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was like a cake version of pumpkin pie and I loved it! As someone else suggested, I used 15 oz. can of pumpkin instead of 1 cup. I added: 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. cloves and I baked in a bundt pan for 45 minutes. I would suggest making it a day ahead cause it's much tastier after it sits a while and although I tried a caramel glaze that I failed, this morning I'm having it with Cool Whip and that is all you need on this cake along with a cup of coffee. I'm making it again for Thanksgiving, putting it in my recipe gift books and THANK YOU FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
VERY MOIST! My family loved it. I also increased the pumpkin, and decreased the sugar like others had recommended. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danube, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was amazing! I couldn't stop eating the muffins. It is super moist and the flavor is perfect! I did decrease the sugar to 1/2 c and used 15oz of pumpkin. Also added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves and 1 tsp nutmeg. I will definently be making this again for the holidays!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States