Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
As with the other's who reviewed this cake I made some alterations following their lead. I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup; used a 15 oz can of pumpkin and added 1/2 tsp. of Nutmeg. I baked mine in a bundt cake pan for approx 45 minutes. I then made a glaze using 1 oz of cream cheese, 1/2 stick butter, 2 cups powdered sugar and milk; spooned it over the top and let it slide down the sides. I made it for Boss's Day and everyone is going crazy over it and how moist it is. I will be making this again and again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SH1MM3R
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and used a whole can of pumpkin like others suggested. I also used 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp cloves, for great results! I baked it in a bundt pan and it probably baked for 45 minutes, then I made a glaze of powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk. My co-workers raved about it, and my students devoured the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
This cake was superb. It was moist, tender, light, rose high in the pan, and kept well. No frosting is needed. However, for more spicyness, I added 1 extra tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. ground ginger, and 1/2 tsp. ground cloves (pumpkin pie spices). A great all-around spice cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My husband has asked for this cake over and over again since I made it. He LOVES it. This is a 5 star with the following tweaks....I used a whole can of pumpkin, reduced the sugar to barely 1/2 cup and added 1 tsp pumpkin pie seasoning, 1 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp cloves. It turned out just right. I used a bundt pan and baked 45 minutes. I topped it with a cream cheese frosting. I will continue to make this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Very easy and delicious.I added a little nutmeg ,a 15 oz can of pumpkin instead of 1 cup and 5 more min. to cooking time. Try cream cheese icing or french vanilla cool whip, both are wonderful. I will add this cake to my dessert menu for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This was an AWESOME cake!! It was a huge success, my husband even said it might be the best cake he ever had! A friend said that she always thinks of pumpkin desserts as heavy, but this isn't. I used egg whites instead of whole eggs. A serving suggestion: I swirled a non-fat caramel syrup on the plate, placed a slice of cake on top, dusted with powdered sugar and added a dollop of fat free frozen whipped topping for good measure. MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I don't care much for pumpkin, but this recipe is out of this world - just add a homemade cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow, I think this cake is going to replace my pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving this year! Followed some suggestions and reduced sugar to 1/2 c. (plenty sweet), used the whole 15 oz. can pumpkin, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cloves. Baked 45 min. in a bundt pan at 350. Iced it like the glaze on a krispy kreme donut (whisked together 1/2 c. confectioner's sugar, 4 TB milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 TB melted butter and drizzled over the top.) The texture, the taste, the smell -- all the warmth of Autumn in a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This has to be the easiest cake i've ever made, and as a male in the house, I have just been elevated to the 'chef' image with this recipe. I made three small changes,I used a lemon cake mix, I exchanged the amount of pumpkin for a 15 oz can, and the spice I changed to pumpkin pie spice. It was also a real hit at my church sunday morning, with a nice lemon icing drizzled across the top of my bundt pan cake!! Excellent, what else can I say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I used spice cake mix and did not add the cinnamon. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States