Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
I made it today and we just love it. It was so easy to make. Most of all, the husband and two kids love it. I served it topped with some cream cheese frosting. Thanks Michele for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
This cake was superb. It was moist, tender, light, rose high in the pan, and kept well. No frosting is needed. However, for more spicyness, I added 1 extra tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. ground ginger, and 1/2 tsp. ground cloves (pumpkin pie spices). A great all-around spice cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This was an AWESOME cake!! It was a huge success, my husband even said it might be the best cake he ever had! A friend said that she always thinks of pumpkin desserts as heavy, but this isn't. I used egg whites instead of whole eggs. A serving suggestion: I swirled a non-fat caramel syrup on the plate, placed a slice of cake on top, dusted with powdered sugar and added a dollop of fat free frozen whipped topping for good measure. MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This is awesome. I used Smucker's Baking Alternative instead of oil, and Egg Beaters in place of eggs (to be cholesterol-friendly), and it was still unbelievably moist. I also had no cinnamon, so I used pumpkin pie spice. Note: Add some chocolate chips if you want some kick. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This has to be the easiest cake i've ever made, and as a male in the house, I have just been elevated to the 'chef' image with this recipe. I made three small changes,I used a lemon cake mix, I exchanged the amount of pumpkin for a 15 oz can, and the spice I changed to pumpkin pie spice. It was also a real hit at my church sunday morning, with a nice lemon icing drizzled across the top of my bundt pan cake!! Excellent, what else can I say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I must have missed something -I made this cake twice just to make sure I hadn't errored the first time. Not the greatest tasting cake out there. Very bland -and not the best texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was just plain blah -highly over-rated. I wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
i have made this several times- and its never failed me yet! quick additions: i also use all egg whites, i reduce the sugar to 1/2 a cup, and i bake for only 35 min. it turns out fluffy moist and flavorful every time! (it tastes great with chocolate frosting as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This was really good. I followed a previous suggestion, and only used egg whites and used only 1/2 a cup of sugar. I used a spice cake mix and added extra cinnamon. It turned out great. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This cake was a hit my sister made it for our garage/bake sale and added cream cheese frosting to it, they sold out quickly! My husband loves them we like to make them into muffins and add a little cool whip or cream cheese frosting. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States