Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Loved this cake! I did use the entire can of pumpkin was my only alteration. I baked as a layer cake and iced with a cream cheese icing that my daughter tinted orange. Sooooo moist and mildly pumpkin flavored. The whole family loved it. Even my skeptical husband and my pumpkin hating daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
SO MOIST and delicious. By far the best pumpkin cake I've had or made. Very flavorful, although I did add perhaps 1/4 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (which I would recommend). There is no need to frost it, but if you do, cream cheese frosting would compliment it. I made this for my office, and it was gobbled up in a snap. Great for potlucks - will definitely make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I added a whole (29 oz) can of pumpkin as other reviewers suggested, but it was VERY dense, but tasted great with a glass of milk. It needs more than 1 cup, but not quite as much as a whole can. My kids asked for a cheetah cake, but I didn't have any red, yellow, or orange food coloring. I found this recipe and added chocolate chips - success! I love how easy it is to impress little kids. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
OK, following other people's suggestions I did this: Decrease sugar to 1/2 cup, increase water to 1/2 cup and use one whole can pumpkin. For spices, I blended 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. cloves and mixed with dry ingredients. Then add wet ingredients. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 min. Came out so delicious and moist - even more so next day! You MUST use Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was looking forward to being more impressed with all of the great reviews... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used a gluten-free vanilla cake mix, this was very good cake, my 3 year old son said it was the best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Awesome!! Easiest cake ever and perfect flavor! Will make this again and again and again. We tried it warm with butter and also added a powdered sugar icing/glaze and both was was excellent. My whole family was in love with this and that is a rarity! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Good , moist cake. I'm not sucha fan of pumpkin pie and my boyfriend hates sweet potatoes and is allergic to pecans, so I made this for Thanksgiving. I added a lot more spices--ginger, more cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. I baked it in two round pans and frosted with cream cheese frosting. It's good, but not spectacular enough for a Thanksgiving meal. Ill make it again, but not for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe was easy. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar which was still plenty sweet. The texture of the cake is strange, even my husband agreed. I used 4 teaspons of pumpkin pie spice. I also made a cream cheese/conf. sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I used an entire can of pumpkin, added pumpkin spices as others have done and used 2/3 cup sugar. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States