Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an easy, tasty recipe. I followed some of the other reviewers and used 2/3 cup sugar, 1 15-oz can of pumpkin, 1/4 cup milk instead of water, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I live at high altitude, so I added a scant 1/4 cup flour and baked the cake in a heavy-gauge Bundt pan at 350 degrees for about 30-35 minutes. A dusting of confectioners' sugar is all you need, but the cream cheese glaze or a caramel glaze would go well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this cake. It's one of the best cakes i've ever tried. The only problem I had was when baking in a bundt pan, it sticks. I thought it stuck the first time because I only sprayed it with cooking spray. So the second time I greased and floured the pan, thoroughly, but it still stuck on the sides and the center. It's still edible, just not as pretty. I was going to take it to my fam's christmas dinner, but I am going to make another one and use a 13x9 cake pan instead. I will keep the messed up one for my house. (yay!) I also decreased sugar to 2/3 cup and used 15 oz of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this cake for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I followed some of the other suggestions and used two cups of fresh pumpkin, 1/2 a cup of sugar and included some nutmeg and cloves. I iced it with some vanilla icing and voila! One of the best cakes I have ever made and will be sure to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
this cake was amazing!! I added 1/2 tsp clove and 1 tsp nutmeg. I also used one less egg as my cake mix called for 3 and the 14oz can of pumpkin makes things a little wet. I made a cream cheese glaze using 4tbsp butter, 1/2c. cream cheese, 1c. powdered sugar and 4tbsp milk, blended together and drizzled over top. I took it to a dinner party and nothing came home with us!!! so good, thanks for sharing. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I just made this and it is deliciously moist...in fact needs no icing. I used 1/2 c. sugar and a whole can of pumpkin, 2 tsp cinnamon because I love cinnamon. I am going to make this for Thanksgiving as I am always in charge of desserts and along with the traditional pumpkin pie will also be a pumpkin cake..yum! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kane, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I made this recipie into cupcakes and they were a smash! I forsted them with a buttercream and sprinkled a little brown suger on top for looks. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet_nothings101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My kids love pumpkin bread but this is so much more moist! The ends seem to get tough when I make bread. I make it for an easy breakfast. We warm it up an put a little butter on it. Make the house smell yummy. I alter it some: 1/4 c oil, 1/4 c applesauce, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp of cloves, allspice and nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cinnamon. The rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Awesome recipe and so easy too! I made 24 cupcakes instead of a 9x13 pan and only baked it for 20 minutes instead. I also decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and substituted the cinnamon with pumpkin pie spice. It came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pudding_cup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I don't like pumpkin, but my husband and three kids DEVOURED this! I used the whole can of pumpkin (15oz), baked them in a muffin tin (24 muffins) and topped them with a powdered sugar/vanilla/milk glaze. A huge hit....will be making another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
it was ok - used 1/2 sugar, applesauce instead of oil and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States