Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Made this cake b/c I was craving a pumpkin dessert. Four stars only because I tweaked it. Added cinnamon, allspice & nutmeg. Also decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and, because I had it, used 1/2 cup of coconut oil instead of the veggie oil. Whole can of pumpkin used too! Very moist! I'm wondering if I can make a sweet potato cake using the same methods as this one?? Stay tuned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
try using an orange cake mix, really changes it, but in a good way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent, quick cake! My hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Really like it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Used a white cake mix, substituted brown sugar for white, used a heaping teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Delicious! Moist, tasty, easy to make. Wife made a cream cheese frosting for it. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe was SUCH a hit with my daughters grade 3 class, that I wanted to make another batch for home... I just happened to have a boxed "Butter Pecan" cake mix in my cupboard, so I substituted it for the yellow cake... SO delicious!!!! I did them as cup cakes, frosted them with whipped cream cheese icing and sprinkled a tiny bit of cinnamon sugar for garnish. They're amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an easy, tasty recipe. I followed some of the other reviewers and used 2/3 cup sugar, 1 15-oz can of pumpkin, 1/4 cup milk instead of water, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I live at high altitude, so I added a scant 1/4 cup flour and baked the cake in a heavy-gauge Bundt pan at 350 degrees for about 30-35 minutes. A dusting of confectioners' sugar is all you need, but the cream cheese glaze or a caramel glaze would go well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this cake. It's one of the best cakes i've ever tried. The only problem I had was when baking in a bundt pan, it sticks. I thought it stuck the first time because I only sprayed it with cooking spray. So the second time I greased and floured the pan, thoroughly, but it still stuck on the sides and the center. It's still edible, just not as pretty. I was going to take it to my fam's christmas dinner, but I am going to make another one and use a 13x9 cake pan instead. I will keep the messed up one for my house. (yay!) I also decreased sugar to 2/3 cup and used 15 oz of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this cake for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I followed some of the other suggestions and used two cups of fresh pumpkin, 1/2 a cup of sugar and included some nutmeg and cloves. I iced it with some vanilla icing and voila! One of the best cakes I have ever made and will be sure to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
this cake was amazing!! I added 1/2 tsp clove and 1 tsp nutmeg. I also used one less egg as my cake mix called for 3 and the 14oz can of pumpkin makes things a little wet. I made a cream cheese glaze using 4tbsp butter, 1/2c. cream cheese, 1c. powdered sugar and 4tbsp milk, blended together and drizzled over top. I took it to a dinner party and nothing came home with us!!! so good, thanks for sharing. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States