Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe! Used the holiday French Vanilla Cool Whip to top it with and is absolutely PERFECT. My brother is requesting for his very own, so I'll be making 2 more today one for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was delicious! I followed some recommendations used a whole 15oz can of pumpkin, 1/2 cup of sugar, pumpkin spice and used Duncan Hines moist classic yellow cake mix and cooked it one day ahead of serving and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is a very good cake; however, I would give it 5 stars if it had more pumpkin flavor. I made it as is cutting the sugar to 1/2 c. Next time I will do as other reviewers suggested and add a whole can of pumpkin and I may leave out the sugar altogether. A simple cake to put together and serve as a wonderful fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I tried this recipe 3 times...all three times, it was very doughy and when I made it in the bundt pan, it fell apart when I turned it out. I omitted the water. the last time I added 1/4 c flour. I need a pumpkin cake suitable for decorating for a wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
In my haste to bake this recipe, I forgot the sugar completely. I fretted, but hoped that the cake mix would be sweet enough. It turned out moist and sweet. Everyone loved it. Even my pumpkin-hating hubby liked it (I told him it was spice cake!) I added powered ginger, allspice, cloves and nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. You honestly do not need the sugar at all, especially if you are going to sprinkle the top of powdered sugar or drizzle with icing. Everyone said that any more sugar would be too too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good and easy cake. I did take the advice of others and added only 2/3 cup sugar and a 15 oz can of pumpkin. I also added a full bag of chocolate chips, which made it really yummy. I baked it for 55 min in a stoneware bundt pan. Everyone said it was really good...some ate seconds. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I believe this cake would have been great as is but my family likes the spice so I followed my fellow reviewers and up-ed the spice and pumpkin. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Richmond Hill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe was absolutely delicious I did make a few changes though I use applesauce instead of cooking oil and I use the whole can of pumpkin instead of just 1 cup instead of making a cake I made cupcakes I cook them for 20 mins at 350 and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Following others suggestions, I added a 15 oz can of pumpkin and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I wanted to make it a chocolate pumpkin cake, so I added 1 cup mini chocolate chips to the batter and topped the cake with a chocolate glaze after cooling. To make the glaze - Melt 2 tablespoon semi-sweet or unsweetened chocolate(I use semi-sweet), with 1 tablespoon margarine. Add ¾ cup powdered sugar, ½ teaspoon vanilla and 4-6 tablespoons hot water and mix until smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States