Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was a good recipe. I didn't add the nuts. The cake was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Wow! Great cake, or bread if you want to bake it in loaf pans. I don't like to change recipes that are submitted too often, but I did change a couple of things. I don't like cloves or nutmeg, so I add two teaspoons cinnamon and 1 teaspoon allspice for the spices. Did I mention I like cinnamon? I only had canola oil and I think it comes out moister with it. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!I've made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This cake was moist, tasty, and a huge hit at work! I had tons of requests for this recipe. I bumped up the spices a bit but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and baked it in a bundt pan. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nenmonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by LANAIAH
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This cake was so easy to make and it turned out fabulous! Very moist with a smooth pumpkin pie/spice cake flavor. The cake is not lite & fluffy...it's a little heavy but very good. I drizzled cream cheese glaze over the warm cake and it enhanced the flavors even more. Tasted a lot like a pumpkin roll without all the fuss. Definitely a keeper! I think I will add fresh cranberries to the batter & sprinkle the baked top of cake with chopped pecans when I make this for Christmas just to make it a little more special. [basic cream cheese glaze- 4-oz. cream cheese-softened, 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon butter-softened, 1 tsp vanilla extract, mix till there are no lumps and add enough milk to make it a glaze constancy about 2 Tblsp.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
YUM! Made this into cupcakes for my daughter's 1st birthday party. I added chocolate chips to the "adult" cupcakes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. I did not add any nuts, but did add a 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to bring out the pumpkin flavor. I also made whipped cream cheese frosting to frost the cake (8 oz. cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/8 tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream - directions: whip cream first, then in a separate bowl combine all other ingredients, beat until smooth, and then fold in the whipped cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Made this cake for my husband to take to work and everyone loved it! His mgr insisted that I make it again for their Christmas party. I found cake very easy to put together and bake. No problems at all and I followed the recipe to the "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This cake is FANTASTIC!! I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Wow!! I made this cake for my husband's birthday (he LOVES anything pumpkin) and it was outstanding!!! He was completely impressed and it made for a delicious ending to a special birthday celebration! I made it in a 9X13 and then iced it with Cream Cheese Frosting...it's rich, sweet and SINFULLY GOOD! Let yourself splurge on this one - you won't be sad that you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Photo by AUtiger86
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was really yummy! The only change I made was to use half oil, half applesauce, and it was still very moist! I also reduced the temp to 325 halfway through because I was using a heavy dark bundt pan. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States