Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yum! What a wonderful dessert for Fall! I added chocolate chips, which are a nice complement. I really like the presentation of the bundt pan for this cake. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was fantastic! I did use 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce and decreased oil by 1/2 cup. I added a cup of chocolate chips and topped it with cream cheese frosting. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyCF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IronChefHarvey
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Great tasting, moist cake. The spices really come through. I would recommend cream cheese frosting as a fantastic compliment. The best part though is the presentation. Make 2 bundt cakes, flip one over on top of the other and frost to look like a full 3D pumpkin. It will feed a crowd and they will love it. I made one for an office Halloween party and it is now legendary - The Great Pumpkin cake! I am making it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
So good. I reduced the sugar as well and used applesauce for 1/4c of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Fantastic fall cake. I replaced the oil completely with applesauce and used a little (maybe 1/4 cup) less sugar than called for. Probably would have been good with just 2 cups of sugar. I also replaced the flour with sorghum flour (gluten free) which worked just fine. The blend of spices was delicious, especially as I am a big fan of fall spices. I whipped up a little cream cheese glaze to drizzle over it which turned out okay. It didn't add much of a cream cheese taste, just sugary, but it looked nice. Roommates liked this cake a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lumberjole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Yummy yummy all I changed was I added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Really really good. I replaced half of the oil with applesauce and doubled up on the spices. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very moist. Delicious. (And I don't like pumpkin!) I only made a few substitutions: used a cup of applesauce instead of the oil, the equivalency of egg substitute for the eggs, and 2 tsp allspice instead of 1 allspice and 1 cloves (I didn't have any cloves). I would love to try it with chopped nuts next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was a good recipe. I didn't add the nuts. The cake was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Wow! Great cake, or bread if you want to bake it in loaf pans. I don't like to change recipes that are submitted too often, but I did change a couple of things. I don't like cloves or nutmeg, so I add two teaspoons cinnamon and 1 teaspoon allspice for the spices. Did I mention I like cinnamon? I only had canola oil and I think it comes out moister with it. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!I've made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States