Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My absolute favorite cake!! I've made it so many times, more than I can count. It's a hit everywhere I bring it! So moist and delicious! You won't be disappointed. Your house will smell so yummy for days after baking one. Thank you D. Adams for this excellent recipe you've shared with us. My taste buds thank you as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffy Jeffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great recipe; I made it about three times and each time it was delicious! I did not make any changes, except I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned (only because I had them) and I don't think that made too much of a difference. Also, the second time I made it I added raisins, and that was good too. I think the recipes is fairly healthy so I did not think it was necessary to eliminate sugar or oil. The whole wheat flour idea sounds good, but my family probably would not go for that. It had the perfect amount of spices; I find with pumpkin, carrot and zuchinni cake recipes it is often hard to find one with enough spices and many are bland; it is the spices that really make it. Often I find myself adding spices just to make it taste good and sometimes others cannot handle the amount I put. However, I did not need to add any spices and we all liked it! I added powdered sugar like the recipes said and that really added the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 applesauce, and all brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I have made this cake 4 times now, and every time, someone asks for the recipe. I used equal parts of whole wheat and regular flour (it was still super moist!), and omitted the walnuts. So easy, and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Followed the recipe exact. Greased the pan extremely well. Cooked cake exactly 1 hr until toothpick came out clean. Waited exactly 5 minutes and turned out on plate per instructions. And ended up with a big mess as the cake stuck in the pan terribly. Tastes OK, but is a shredded mess. Gonna have to figure out how to serve as trifle instead... ugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I read through a lot of the reviews with all the changes people have made, but decided to give it a try with just the ingredients listed, and it turned out delicious! I was a little concerned mine would be a little "gooey" since I used fresh pureed pumpkin rather than canned, but it is just very moist, and not doughy at all. I baked it in a 9x13 cake pan for about 45 minutes, versus the bunt pan. Great cake! Will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
tender moist cake.it seems more suited for a loaf bread though.i will definately use it again as a bread by using less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This cake recipe is perfect as submitted, and requires no changes at all! To the lady who wondered why Allspice was included. Allspice is not a mixture of spices as she mistakenly believes but is, instead, a spice of its own -- often used in Jamaican cooking. I always add a generous dash of it to pumpkin pie, in spite of all of the other spices. Its addition provides an extra bit of verve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Made this cake for a co-worker's birthday who likes anything pumpkin. It turned out beautifully and had a lovely pumpkin spice flavor. I made the cream cheese frosting from this site & made it orange and drizzled the frosting on the top. Also frosted an ice cream cone in green frosting and placed it upside down in the center of the bundt cake. It was a beautiful pumpkin flavored pumpkin cake & my co-worked loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowergirl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made this cake for my friend's birthday when his request was "something pumpkin" as he has a fall birthday. This cake is AMAZING. I made it as written, the only change was instead of 4 tsp of each spice, I used 4 tsp. of pumpkin spice (which includes all four spices)and it worked beautifully. I made the cake in two 9" pans so that cut the baking time down to 30 min. I made a honey spice buttercream frosting and that was literally the "icing on the cake!" I bake often and this is by far my favorite recipe. I've already been asked to make this for Thanksgiving and had several requests for the recipe. Definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States